We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“On Top of world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngong Hills

Ngong Hills
Book In Advance
$216.00*
and up
Nairobi City and National Park Guided Day Tour
Ranked #11 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On Top of world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

superb scenic view, fresh air, It you love hiking then this is place to go. not recommeded during rain as it could get very muddy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Surender s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    74
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bumpy Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled this way to visit family. It had beautiful scenary. However, this was THE bumpest road I have ever been on in life. Its a windy ride, tried to take photos but none came out because of all the bouncing. Make sure to stay away if raining because the streets look like mud so i can imagine it would be hard to travel if it were too wet

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phisigchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not for the feint bodied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hike & picnic site. You will be hurting owever if - like me - you're unfit. Great place though!

Helpful?
Thank chala116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More Than You'll Expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Ngong Hills are breathtaking and a surprise. However, be sure to drive around "Corner Baridi" and see the Maasai lands BEHIND Ngong Hills. Do not just look at the views towards Nairobi. Drive all the way to "Ole Polos" and see stunning African scenery. You feel like you are in a movie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"interesting" experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hills are beautiful, much of Kenya is...however this is not a safe area. First off go with a big group, and hire a guard or handle a gun. I went with two other people, one a woman, and the only warning signs would be hindsight. There were no guards on the way, we later found out the guards woke up late. We arrived at 8:15 and after the 3rd hill (9:15ish), we sat down to rest. 3 bandits came from the side of the mountain with large machetes, and told us to lie on the grass. Robbed us of around 5,000 shillings, cameras, usb drives, and beat myself (man) and the other man with the sides of the blades. After we hiked back, the locals and paramilitary did tell us that another group of 6 White people were robbed and beaten for resisting, the general attitude was we should've known better. Well if there were signs, and guards, and warnings, we may have known better. We were told that we were robbed because the woman was white, and if the two of us (both Black men) had gone alone, this would not have happened. Don't know if that was supposed to make us feel better. Please exercise caution, as this is an area were many do not have...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Jonny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngong Hills also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing