We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic hotel in top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Save
You added Parkside Hotel to your Saves list
Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Parkside Hotel is right in the heart of the action in Nairobi and only a short walk fropm many attractions. As mentioned by other reviewers it is good for a night maybe two. We arrived late afternoon witout a booking and had no problem securing a room.
The hotel is showing it's age, but I believe still offer excellent value compared to other hotels nearby. We had a trplie room for one night and it cost 3500KS($41) without breakfast. The rooms are basic but still had they reasonable linnen and even a TV! The bathroom was a little grubby, suspect hotwater system but acceptable, once again considering the price.
We had room 312 at the rear of the hotel and it overlooked the bar in the lane behind and was quite noisey until the music turned down at midnight. That being said we slept sleep well as we had an action packed day.
The staff were excellent and it was no problem to leave our luggae in a secure storeage room at reception until our flight in the evening. They even had a room which we could change our clothes in before the flight.
All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side sections of the hotel to avoid street or lane noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
7
20
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed at Parkside Hotel during a recent visit to Nairobi, Kenya I traveled solo and felt safe at this hotel.

I stayed at Parkside after my return from my climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro. What reviewer didn't revealed is that this hotel doesn't have an elevator. Which wouldn't have been an issue if I hadn't just come from a 6 day trek 19,000 feet about sea level. My slow climb up 3 flights of stairs to avoid being next to or near the bar was a bit of a challenging. No elevator meant the nice doorman had to carry all my gear ( I over packed) to my room.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or computer room. I went across the street to Kenya Comfort hotel to use their computer which they charge by minute but is wasn't working. The room had a mosquito net for each bed. Which I found to be common at all the hotels I stayed at during my visit.

I found the room to be clean and comfortable for the money. The room was very basic. I just needed a safe place to sleep and shower. . Kenya Comfort Hotel is across the street and their rates are $20.00 plus higher. I paid with U.S. dollars and was able to save $15.00. Otherwise, they are basically the same hotel. The only real difference between the two is the fact that Kenya Comfort has an elevator and a computer lab. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar/club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manifest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights...central location...shopping malls / Market place / currency exchanges very near by... very basic facilities.. only one electric changing point in room that too not easily accessible ... hot water only in shower...restaurant was under repair...overall only good for overnight stop over...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniruddha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights...once at the beginning and once at the end of the holiday. Just a convenient stopover to fit in with flights. It is clean, comfortable and we did not find it too noisy. The staff were fine and for the money it was exactly what we expected. Paid 2700 shillings each time for double room.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bibbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The staff were completely inhumane. How could they treat an expectant mother in such a manner. Had paid up for an entire weeks stay but developed a complication and had to leave immediately. The staff however did not care to listen a bit as they rejected her pleas for a refund of even a single day.
Oh what a shame!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Kerteminde, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Parkside is a old but good budget hotel near the city center.
You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants, and just outside do you find taxis and shuttles.
The rooms are small and clean, but some noise from the bar behind the hotel.
Staff was always friendly
Wouldn't stay here for a longer periode

Room Tip: Couldn't find any Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanBraunDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel accidently because the nearby Delta which was originally booked for us happened to be full. Well, a double room in Delta cost us 80 USD another night and a double room in Parkside was only 2500 shilling (around 30 USD) and I did not find much difference in hotels quality; so I was even upset that we did not stay in Parkside from the beginning.

The location is great: central, secure, pleasant garden in front of hotel; nearby there are many cafes and shops and Nakumat supermarket 5 min walk away.
Our room was spacious (with two beds) and clean. The water in the shower was not very hot but maybe I did not manage to fix it properly. There is no breakfast, so we went to a cafe in the area, which was no problem at all. The staff seemed nice to me; the receptionist let us use her mobile phone to call our agent to inform that we changed the hotel; overall they were helpful.

For budget travellers I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#94 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#66 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
#120 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#27 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#110 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Property: Parkside Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing