We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parkside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$224
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$213
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$226
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
1
12
30
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
12
30
14
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel accidently because the nearby Delta which was originally booked for us happened to be full. Well, a double room in Delta cost us 80 USD another night and a double room in Parkside was only 2500 shilling (around 30 USD) and I did not find much difference in hotels quality; so I was even upset that we did not stay in Parkside from the beginning.

The location is great: central, secure, pleasant garden in front of hotel; nearby there are many cafes and shops and Nakumat supermarket 5 min walk away.
Our room was spacious (with two beds) and clean. The water in the shower was not very hot but maybe I did not manage to fix it properly. There is no breakfast, so we went to a cafe in the area, which was no problem at all. The staff seemed nice to me; the receptionist let us use her mobile phone to call our agent to inform that we changed the hotel; overall they were helpful.

For budget travellers I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Parkside is a good budget hotel near the city center. You are close to the market, Nakumat, bars and restaurants . The rooms are small but clean, and they clean up the stairs and the hall every morning. You find just outside taxis, shuttles offices, forex, but don\t expect more than you pay.
Staff was always friendly

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Upon first entering, the place looks like a dive. The entrance is small and it's easy to miss the sign. Corridor wasn't brightly lit and it's a pay-cash-in-advance type of place. It seemed rather full when I was there, with a steady stream of all sorts of people going in and out .

The rooms themselves had old furniture and very old linens but it was reasonably clean and there was more than enough space. There was a switch to turn on hot water for a shower. This basically made the freezing water not cold, but never actually got hot.

The downtown area is convenient for shopping, eating, bars, etc. but there are constant touts right outside the door. There's a really loud bar that plays music past midnight just behind the hotel. Reception was always professional and courteous and the guards were always friendly.

Overall, this isn't a bad choice for the price you pay. Wouldn't recommend it for a leisurely holiday but for a night or two it's not a bad option.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Parkside Hotel is decent value for the money. The rooms are pretty comfortable, and the hot water is reliable. The staff, however, are a drawback: indifferent at best, surly at worst. There is a bar/restaurant next door which is VERY loud at night, with blaring music and the booming voices of boozy revelers, which is annoying. As far as I can tell, there isn't a hotel in this area that is not noisy at night, but Parkside was the noisiest of the three downtown hotels I've stayed in.

I'd stay at Parkside again, but it's not my first choice in downtown Nairobi, mostly because of the unfriendly staff and the amount of noise at night. However, I wouldn't tell anybody to stay away from Parkside: if you're on a budget and you want to stay downtown, it's a reasonable option.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dumpendebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Desk staff could use some "hospitality classes" to develop a warm, welcoming demeanor. The cleaning staff are most kind and helpful should you have any issues. It's an old building, so don't expect new/fancy. But I always feel safe there, and I've stayed 6 or 8 times in the past few years.
Restaurant affiliate is immediately next door.
You can walk to the Norfolk Hotel if you want a taste of luxury but you won't find luxe at Parkside.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews