We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good middle class hotel in city centr” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good middle class hotel in city centr”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice hotel with a good location in the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a colonial atmosphere with a nice bar where you can enjoy a refreshing drink watching the street life.
If you ie are going on a safari the hotel will take care of your luggage while you are away, withot any cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
13
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Oakwood Hotel for one night in December 2012.
The location is central and the staff friendly. The rooms are simple and clean. We had warm water - the bathroom, however, was in need of renovation.
Unfortunately, we were not able to sleep at night as our room was located opposite of a nightclub and loud music was playing all night long.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the very end of the corridors - furthest away from the nightclub, it seems to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JE113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madahotels_11, Manager at Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear JE111

Thanks alot for your positive review and Choosing Oakwood Hotel as your Hotel of choice.

The capital of Kenya, Nairobi is a bit noisy over the weekend. And the management have spoken with The local Authority to find out a solution how they will cub the Noisy night clubs around, so if you are choosing to stay at Oakwood Hotel Book the second floor of the building that's one much better.

Thanks alot for taking your time to spread the word about Oakwood Hotel.

Regards

James. N.

Hotel Manager
email: oakwoodmanager@madahotels.com
cc: admin@madahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda - India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had book this hotel on line for the 15th Nov'12, after my plan safari trip. Unfortunate to say I was not able go for the safari as I suffered a massive cardiac arrest and had to undergo surgery during that period. The booking done was for 3 persons/room and in the booking requirements it was stated that if we did not acknowledge our commitment they would deduct 20% of the cost.
The cost of both rooms were $308.00 and the booking was done through the credit card.
Due to my sudden unexpected illness, I had informed the hotel through the mada group of hotels 15 days in advance and also received an acknowledgement from a Mr Allan.
On 11th Nov, noticed through my credit account that the amount of $62.00 was deducted and further again on 16th Nov another amount of $92.00 was deducted without any intermission.
The total amount deducted was $154.00 which is 50% of the cost of the rooms.
I have written to Mr Allan with regards to this issue and till date he has not bothered to reply back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was the first African hotel I have stayed in and I was pleasantly surprised. I had a very large room next to reception, i felt safe and secure at all times inside the hotel. Given the price of this hotel I am very happy. There is a restaurant and bar serving nice food and all the staff were pleasant and friendly. Would highly recommend to anyone on a tight budget. the only downside was the wi-fi was not working and the TV only had 3 working channels, but who stays in a hotel to watch TV?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location. We stayed for 2 nights but with a night's break inbetween as we were visiting The Aberdares Park for one night. The first night's stay was OK, with helpful, friendly service, and copious amounts of really hot water. Our room was at the side and was quite quiet at night, but our friends' room was at the front and very noisy. Our room, however, had an over-bath shower which we didn't use in the evening as there was no shower curtain. We did use the shower in the morning and it flooded the bathroom, due to the lack of curtain. There was also no TV remote control in the room. The hotel stored our luggage whilst we went away for the one night, and then gave us different rooms when we returned. These rooms only had showers, and, whilst we had a curtain, our friends' didn't. We had 2 TV remotes this time, but no kettle and only one cup. These were supplied upon request by housekeeping. But the worst fault of all was when we tried to have a shower in the evening. The water was stone cold. We tried letting it run for a while, but still nothing, so we contacted Reception who told us to let it run! So we tried again, but nothing. Reception then told us that they had 'forgotten to switch on the boiler' so to wait 20 minutes. We waited, but still no hot water. This time Reception told us that the boiler was broken. We gave up and used a combination of cold water and hot water from the kettle to wash. Our friends also complained and were offered a move to a room on the 2nd floor where apparently the boiler was working (this was the floor we'd been on for the first night). By this time it was too late for us to be bothered to move, so we stuck where we were. Had we been offered the move in the first place, we would have accepted it. From reading other comments just now, it appears that lack of hot water is not a one-off occurrence so the story about a broken boiler seems disingenuous to say the least.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side are less noisy, and there seems to be a problem with hot water on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay was for two nights. Central location - easy to explore central Nairobi on foot. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean room, sheets and lovely towels. Breakfast included in room rate (booked via Booking.com website). Free WiFi with good connection. Bed was rock hard! Enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202 - overlooking the street. Nice to have the light but quite a lot of traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VPB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The rooms looks quite nice with the oakwood but thats seems to be the only partition hence noise from the next rooms.I could't ask more from the location but they could make it a posh place with it.The Buffet area for breakfast is abit shabby although food is quite nice and has a local influence.The staff are also quite nice and helpful.Check out time aslo should be 11 if not 12.00

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ngarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#67 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#49 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#86 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Metro Nairobi
Hotel Metro Nairobi
#121 of 161 in Nairobi
2.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#66 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hotel

Property: Oakwood Hotel
Address: Kimathi Street | P.O. Box 40683, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood HotelThe Oakwood Hotel is a small exclusive and perfectly located property, in fact, it's ideal accommodation for guests who enjoy the hustle, bustle and non-stop night-life of Nairobi.The Oakwood resides in the Elite House. building, formally Livingstone House. The property was built in the 1950s and although it maintains its colonial Architect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing