We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of Waine
Nearby Hotels
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$211
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
214
52
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
52
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren blixen museumrose petalsdressing roomelephant orphanageboutique hotelkazuri bead factorybottle of champagnequiet oasissmall hotelpost safaritwo nightsnext morningcolonial stylewilson airportbeautiful roomrooms are spaciousnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We've stayed in all the key places now in Karen between safaris and other trips, and this one tops them all. Beautiful place, peaceful, private and what a lovely garden! We felt very well taken care of and loved the experience. I'll echo the comments about the bed being too hard, but I requested an extra duvet to be placed on top of the mattress & it did the trick. I had 2 hectic days of business meetings in Nairobi traffic and pollution, and having the House of Waine to come back to after the craziness was such a welcome relief. We will be back. We even had a crisis where we could not get back to the hotel as planned in the Friday traffic crush between connecting flights, and they brought our bags to us at the hotel near the airport where we crashed instead. Great service and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way from Rwanda to safari in Kenya. We had red mixed reviews on the hotel but people we met in Rwanda gave a positive review so we were hopeful. The only downside was the trip from the airport which took nearly 3 hours to do a 45 minute trip. The hotel was is beautiful grounds, the rooms were large and beautifully decorated, the staff friendly and professional. The food and service in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It was a shame we only had one night at the hotel, I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone staying in Nairobi

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Service was beyond compare. When we mentioned we'd like a romantic table for dinner, we were guided to a private dining room, floor covered in rose petals, surrounded with candles and a private fireplace to warm the moment. Now that's what I call going the extra mile...the food was excellent, one of the best soups of our trip. Beef dish was creative and perfectly cooked. Wines were fantastic. Actually their house red (a spanish blend) would drink with some of the big boys. Rooms was large and well appointed (also rose petals when we returned from dinner). only negative comment was the bed was too hard for an extended stay. Thanks House of Waine, a memorable experience. Asante Sana

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in the House of Waine at the beginning and at the end of our 2 week Safari. Both times we were fortunate enough to stay at the Malaika suite (which is an amazing room with a huge 30 sq meter terrace). The complimentary snack mini-bar is also a nice touch/ The house has a quiet, relaxed colonial feel and is a perfect place to simply chill out and relax before and most importantly after the safari. We found the staff extremely friendly and the food was spectacular. The heated pool and free high speed wi-fi are the great amenities (we couldn't get internet to work anywhere else in Kenya/Tanzania). It's also only a few minuted from the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre (which sadly we did not get a chance to visit on this trip). Would definitely stay here again when we return to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the House of Waine, Nairobi, Kenya by accident. Virgin Atlantic failed to land at Nairobi as planned for reasons that can only be explained by its pilot. After spending a long, dispiriting day at Mombassa airport in transit (where we ended up after a night flight from Heathrow), and missing the first night of our safari, we needed some comfort. On getting back to Nairobi under our own steam with Fly 540 (Kenyan pilots seem fearless where cloud cover is concerned) we stayed at the House of Waine for one night before finally getting off to Mount Kenya at 8am the following day.

The hotel is in a lovely setting in Karen and is handy for Wilson airstrip for the safarilink planes. It was quiet when we visited. Rooms are very comfortable, and we found the setting to be suitably zen after a trying day. Dinner was delicious and very good value. We slept very well, and received our wake up call as requested. When we next visit Nairobi we would definitely consider staying here rather than in the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews