We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #11 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed at House of Waine before and after our Safari in the Masai Mara. We arrived exhausted, following a 30-hour journey from Sydney, Australia, and couldn't have found a more perfect place. We had the Manyatta Room, decorated in Masai colours, which had a small balcony and a huge comfy bed. We were greeted with a fruit cocktail and after a quick shower took advantage of a few reviving laps in the heated pool.
We sat outside for a relaxing beer and then got changed for dinner. The menu changes daily and there are good meat, fish and vegetarian options every day. The staff are delightful - warm, friendly and incredibly helpful.
The last thing I wanted to do was check my emails but my partner did (sigh) and they brought a laptop up to our room.
The hotel is quiet, with only 11 rooms, and we were grateful for that as we were so tired we could barely converse with each other. We slept incredibly well and woke up next day completely restored.
On our final night we were given the honeymoon suite. I can honestly say it is the nicest room I've ever been given anywhere in any hotel in the world. It had a huge balcony and was light, bright and spacious. I was feeling a bit depressed at having finished my Safari but my spirits were raised no end.
House of Waine is in a really convenient spot in Karen. It's a quiet, wealthy, pretty area of Nairobi and you're only five minutes from the Karen Blixen museum and not far from nature trails, the elephant orphanage and the giraffe centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecouple141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    43
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
101
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

After having read all those raving reviews of the House of Waine, we wondered whether we had gone to the wrong place. The traffic was so congested it took us almost an hour to get there from the airport. The rooms were damp and musty. If you like dated furniture then you would think it is quaint. The shower kept switching from scalding hot to cold. Dinner was a disaster, the steaks were not fresh and we couldn't eat them. What a relief that we only stayed one night. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isfaepopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed three nights just after Easter in a ground floor room, Bustani, with French windows opening onto the garden. The room was spacious and comfortable although the shower didn’t produce enough hot water for two even though there was plenty coming out of the bath taps – that and a light bulb being out in the bedroom which wasn’t fixed were the only two things wrong, otherwise it was a lovely place and the staff really friendly. We were virtually the only people staying – there was another family one dinner time, otherwise not a soul, so we were very well looked after but I’m sure it’s the same even when they are busy. The gardens are beautiful and there’s a little pavilion by the pool where you can sit and listen to the birdsong (there was piped music but we asked them to switch it off), have a cup of tea and admire the flowers. It was really easy to organise a taxi to take us to the nearby Karen Blixen museum and a trip to have a look at central Nairobi. The food was delicious – lots of fresh fruit and fabulous homemade bread and there was a choice of wines with dinner. It wouldn’t suit you if you wanted more of a buzz, but it was a thoroughly relaxing place for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This hotel is quite grand, and feels like something from the colonial era.

We found it very quiet - in fact, almost too quiet. Having two separate stays during Feb/March we barely saw another guest and both times had the lounge, bar, swimming pool and resturant all to ourselves. Some people will no doubt enjoy this, but we found it a little unnerving.

In parts, the 'colonial style' has lapsed into 'out dated' - especially the resturant, which is fairly dim desperately needs uplifting.

The beds are also very hard and (as I see other posters have noted) the shower was unreliable - which is not want you want at 4am when rising for an early flight.

The small safe amused me. After looking it, I found that it was not bolted in, and I could simply pick it up and easily walk away with it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed. I went with a group and didn't know I was affording it. What a most pleasant and astonishing surprise!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

keep out of the city centre if you are connecting flights - and this is the place to stay - bit pricy but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyriddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bensville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was our santuary for 2 days before we started our safari. This place was perfect. We had spent 23 hours in transit and arrived at approx.9 pm. The staff was there to greet us and welcome us. They upgraded us to the suite which was superb. We were the only couple staying there and we had the whole place to ourselves. It felt very indulgent and we loved it.
the food was great, the help was great and we were treated like royalty.
We did a day trip around Nairobi which was excellent, with our tour manager Gibson.
It was just what we wanted and needed after our long flight and prepared us perfectly for the best safari you could imagine.
An amazing hotel in which i would have no hesitation in recommending. Very romantic and chic. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing