We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An oasis in the best neighbourhood of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An oasis in the best neighbourhood of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were in Nairobi for 24 hours at the end of our recent Africa trip and stayed here. The house is charming and the rooms large and beautifully decorated; the staff is friendly and helpful and it's very well located in the Karen neighbourhood, where you find a lot of the most obvious tourist attractions in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the car park; also top floor is better as you will hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Nairobi.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the various attractions in the Karen area.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
100
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

What a delightful place in which to spend two nights in Nairobi! Our lovely, very spacious room was richly furnished, tasteful and had a small balcony. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a separate bath and shower.

This 11 bedroom establishment has very attractive grounds to wander around and various areas to sit and relax including an upstairs terrace which overlooks the gardens.

We loved the breakfast area and enjoyed our start to the day here and thought that the evening meals we had both nights in the dining room were also nice.

It was my husband's birthday while we were there and a bottle of bubbly was sent to our room when we arrived which we thought was lovely. Also, after dinner when we returned to our room Happy Birthday was written on the floor boards in rose petals - so unexpected and thoughtful. We were very touched by the gesture!

The staff were very friendly and the service was wonderful. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay at the House of Waine and we certainly did.

Apparently it can take a couple of hours or more to get there from Nairobi airport in heavy traffic but we were very fortunate as it only took our driver a little over 30 mins to reach our peaceful retreat and not much longer on our return journey to the airport!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nairobi. We are glad to have hosted you and appreciate your encouraging feedback.

We are happy you liked your room, enjoyed our service and had a memorable 02 days stay with us.
We hope to host you again on your next trip.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights before going on safari. Very friendly and attentive staff, beautiful room (Manyatta) and good food. We had breakfast and dinner. A nice boutique hotel away from the bustle of Central Niarobi.

Room Tip: Rooms are uniquely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you on your way to Safari and thank you for your kind feedback.

We happily note that you enjoyed your stay with us, liked your room and that we were friendly and attentive.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Nairobi.

Thank you.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

After a hectic two weeks in South Africa and preparing for our Safari trip to Tanzania etc this was the ideal place to take a deep breath. So quiet, only a limited number of rooms/guests and fantastic staff, it was so refreshing.
The only thing that could be better, would be to be there in the warmer months and you could utilise the pool and outside area, that would make it 110%.
In saying that, the hotwater pressure in the 'Safari' room left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine on your recent stay in Nairobi, we are glad you had a good rest with us after Safari.
We appreciate your kind feedback and have noted for action that the water pressure in your room was not sufficient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

From the front gate to the reception, the staff were proactive and ahead of their clients. It was nice to be pampered. Great food to boot. In Nairobi, where pools are cold, their was shallow enough to allow the water to warm during the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miotoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind feedback. We happily note that we made your stay memorable and that you enjoyed our heated pool, food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at House of Waine over Easter weekend 2014 with my family including young infant. Very pleased with service; food was excellent. Only suggestion I would make is more soap and shampoo in the bathrooms please...I stayed in Malaika Suite.

We were all very well catered for including your very young guest. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prampram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the Easter weekend. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our food and services.

We appreciate your kind feedback and have taken you suggestion in to consideration.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent our first day in Kenya at The House of Waine. It is a comfortable facility with large rooms and good food and service. The best aspect of the hotel is the great location which is central to a variety of great activities in Karen (a suburb of Nairobi). We spent a full day exploring the area before heading out on safari.

Our activities included:
1. The Giraffe Center - you must go! We got up close and personal to beautiful Rothschild giraffes. The next time we visit we will hotel at the Giraffe Sanctuary nearby.

2. The Nyumbani Children's Home - we were moved by our visit to this home for abandoned children who are infected with HIV. The impact of this program is overwhelming.

3. The Bead Factory - we got a tour of this awesome facility that employs local, single moms and shopped for jewelry and pottery in their shop.

4. Karen Blixen Home and Museum - I was so excited to see the actual home of the famous writer of "Out of Africa." The tour was ok.

5. The Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage - run, don't walk to this amazing place. We went to the more private and quiet 5pm viewing (you just need to go online and adopt an elephant baby before your trip). It was unbelievable to see the baby elephants running into camp from their day out in the park. So cute! Seeing the babies drink their bottles, play with their keepers and nuzzle into their hay for bed was so moving.

6. Flipflop Shop - do you know what can be made out of recycled Flipflop sandals? Everything! Stop by and try to resist buying something.

Have a great trip!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your first night in Kenya on your way to Safari. We are happy you found our rooms comfortable, food and service good and also found time enjoy the various attractions nearby.

We hope you had a wonderful vacation and look forward to hosting you again.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing