We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“VERY GOOD; KEEP IT UP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD; KEEP IT UP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at House of Waine over Easter weekend 2014 with my family including young infant. Very pleased with service; food was excellent. Only suggestion I would make is more soap and shampoo in the bathrooms please...I stayed in Malaika Suite.

We were all very well catered for including your very young guest. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prampram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the Easter weekend. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our food and services.

We appreciate your kind feedback and have taken you suggestion in to consideration.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    48
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
106
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent our first day in Kenya at The House of Waine. It is a comfortable facility with large rooms and good food and service. The best aspect of the hotel is the great location which is central to a variety of great activities in Karen (a suburb of Nairobi). We spent a full day exploring the area before heading out on safari.

Our activities included:
1. The Giraffe Center - you must go! We got up close and personal to beautiful Rothschild giraffes. The next time we visit we will hotel at the Giraffe Sanctuary nearby.

2. The Nyumbani Children's Home - we were moved by our visit to this home for abandoned children who are infected with HIV. The impact of this program is overwhelming.

3. The Bead Factory - we got a tour of this awesome facility that employs local, single moms and shopped for jewelry and pottery in their shop.

4. Karen Blixen Home and Museum - I was so excited to see the actual home of the famous writer of "Out of Africa." The tour was ok.

5. The Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage - run, don't walk to this amazing place. We went to the more private and quiet 5pm viewing (you just need to go online and adopt an elephant baby before your trip). It was unbelievable to see the baby elephants running into camp from their day out in the park. So cute! Seeing the babies drink their bottles, play with their keepers and nuzzle into their hay for bed was so moving.

6. Flipflop Shop - do you know what can be made out of recycled Flipflop sandals? Everything! Stop by and try to resist buying something.

Have a great trip!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your first night in Kenya on your way to Safari. We are happy you found our rooms comfortable, food and service good and also found time enjoy the various attractions nearby.

We hope you had a wonderful vacation and look forward to hosting you again.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This must be a piece of heaven in Nairobi. We were upgraded to the suite, and wow, what a stunning room, very large and comfortable with a superb balcony. The hotel also has a large swimming pool and beautiful gardens. It is located in a quiet and pretty area of Nairobi with easy access to local attractions. The restaurant is super with good wines to accompany the excellent food.
We have no hesitation in recommending this quality hotel, the place is spotless and comfortable and the staff friendly, I cannot imagine anyone will ever have a bad experience here. Visit and enjoy!!

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are excellent, the suite is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We were honored to host you at House Of Waine and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we happily note that you enjoyed your meals and wines with us, the beautiful gardens, service and also found time to enjoy some of the numerous attractions nearby.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ended our safari vacation at the House of Waine. It was an unexpected stop for us but provided a nice break before heading home. The staff is incredibly gracious and went out of their way to make us comfortable. For example our departing flight was schedule to leave very late in the day, and the manager gave us the only available room to relax in until we left for the airport. The food was very good and fresh. There are only 11 rooms, and they are all decorated in a different theme. The size of both the rooms and bathrooms are very generous. Tea, coffee, and water is provided in each room as well as cookies. The pool provided a welcome distraction. We felt very secure and relaxed during our stay.

Room Tip: I would ask from a room upstairs and with a view towards the pool and garden. The downstairs rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the end of your Safari vacation, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made your stay comfortable.

We are glad we could assist on your day of departure and highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in July. The Room was Huge & perfect with the exception of a small fault on the shower head which sprayed water everywhere other than that couldn't fault it. If I went back to Nairobi would stay here without a doubt. Friendly staff and nice Breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the Malaika Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you, we are glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind feedback which we have taken to consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We loved the House of Waine. The rooms, meals and service were all impeccable. A perfect beginning to our safari. Fantastic location for visiting Daphe Sheldrick Trust as well as Giraffe Center and Karen Blixen house. We would stay here again. With mounting security concerns in Kenya - especially on the coast and in Nairobi, the House of Waine feels like a safe haven. The property is lovely and peaceful. We enjoyed our Swahili lessons during breakfast. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonNewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your way to Safari, we are happy you found our meals and service impeccable, enjoyed your Swahili lessons and also found time to enjoy the various attractions nearby.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed 1 night in the House of Waine during our Kenya Honeymoon Travel and we loved this small, personal house with the lovely people, beautiful environment, tasteful, romantical rooms and absolute calmness.

We liked everything about this hotel and can recommend it with all our heart!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalibella77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you on your honeymoon, thank you for choosing House of Waine.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you.

House Of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing