We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in Karen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful boutique hotel in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely small hotel with beautiful grounds. Being located in Karen it is convenient to many tourist destinations -- Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Sanctuary etc. without having to endure the congestion in downtown Nairobi. Due to location (taxi's not sitting out front) I would suggest organizing ground transportation in advance. Hotel arranged airport transfers for us and probably could arrange for a hired car/driver as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and for the kind feedback, it was a pleasure hosting you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took time to enjoy some of the attractions in the Karen area.

Indeed we can organize transfers and hired cars within 15 minutes.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    43
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
101
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely. Old colonial style and full of great furniture. Very quiet which suited us nicely. The staff are great and the food was good. It seemed to be quite low occupancy which meant their was a slight lack of atmosphere but this is a minor issue. The only thing I would question is the extra $90 they charge for a fold down bed for my daughter. Seems steep but I think this may be the going rate in nairobi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you and we highly appreciate your kind feedback. We are glad your family and you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the food and service offered.

As a policy children below 02 years stay free of charge while from 3 to 11 years a 50% charge applies hence the extra charge.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed one night after a long flight from USA, arrived late night and they could not be more welcoming. With drinks and snacks and made us feel right at home at the late hour.
Next morning had a nice walk around the wonderful grounds with pool and mornings sounds of the birds etc. Had a nice breakfast before we flew out to the Mara.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bortonoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we are happy your stay with us was comfortable.
We appreciate your kind feedback and hope you had a great safari.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My significant other and I have made it a tradition to spend 9th April at House of Waine, Nairobi for her birthday.
The management and staff of House of Waine have exceeded our expectations for the last 5 years with their fantastic service, thoughtfulness, extra step, amazing foods and excellent decor. Without going into details of naming the excellent staff, it is without doubt an experience worth penning.
I would strongly recommend anyone looking for an intimate setting to try out House of Waine and we shall definitely be staying there every 9th April for a long time to come.

Room Tip: The staff are more than happy to help you choose the best room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulH0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad we made your stay memorable.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and continued support, and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night on way to safari camps. Nice place, decent room, nice grounds with pool. Dinner only OK (below safari camp quality). Breakfast good. Didn't need staff, but don't remember them. No cocktail hour or particular ambiance. We were only people staying there, so maybe that was a factor.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your way to safari and we highly appreciate your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast. We have also taken into consideration your feedback on dinner.

We hope to host you again on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a perfect get away place in Nairobi yet with a feel of "away from the city" hustles & bustles. Food is fantastic, service is on point & the facility very well maintained. Was there for our wedding anniversary & the staff went out of their way to make the stay worth remembering...Thanks & we will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It was a pleasure to host you on your wedding anniversary and are happy we made your stay memorable.

We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We returned again to House of Waine in December 2013. Our flight from Zurich was late, the airport was in chaos because it was the night before the Independence Célébrations and there was a power cut - we were in the pitch dark. It was pouring with rain and thousands of people were waiting for friends/family to arrive at the airport. We never thought we would get there! Finally at 11.15pm (4 hours late) we arrived back to our "haven of peace". Would you believe that the restaurant staff were still waiting for us to prepare our dinner. This is just unknown in Europe! We were so tired, we couldn't eat, but we sat and had a couple of drinks with Steve, the Assistant Manager, who gave no indication whatsoever that he wanted to go home!
We stayed two nights. The following day we didn't go far but enjoyed the hospitality of being guests in a country house atmosphere, where nothing is too much trouble and the food/service is excellent!
Would we return? Yes, definitely...........
It is not the least expensive hotel in Nairobi but you cannot get a Rolls Royce for the price of a Mini!

Room Tip: All rooms are exellent, but if you want to treat yourself - go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We were happy to welcome you back to House of Waine and are glad you had a great stay with us after a long trip.
We all hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing