We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious luxury, efficient service, and wonderful staff.”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #20 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I wish we had stayed with House of Waine for a few more days. We had a hectic schedule and it was always nice to arrive back to the oasis of relaxation away from hustle & bustle of Nairobi. Despite an annoying incident with a taxi driver referred by the hotel, our needs were met expeditiously and in a friendly manner. The food was delicious and menu choices innovative. The bartenders and wait staff were very patient and helpful in offering beverage options and we were also very grateful to Dennis at the front desk who helped in shipping an item with DHL.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet so travelling with very young children might be a challenge. However, reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Albert,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your family at House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback, we all appreciate it and also take note of the inconvenience caused by the taxi transfer.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the House of Waine this past January.
The House of Waine is located in Karen, a residential suburb of Nairobi.
Our flight from London didn't arrive in Nairobi until 9:50PM and it was after 11:00PM before we arrived at the House of Waine. The staff, including cooks, were waiting for us and prepared a late night snack before we turned in. I knew we where at the perfect place!
The House of Waine is everything that you would expect. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was attentive and ready to serve. All in all, a "Perfect" experience.

Room Tip: Nairobi was our last stop before starting a three week safari. They put us in the Safari Room... m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerSoleil72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing House of Waine, we are glad you had a great experience with us.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only stayed here one night in September 2013 before we embarked on our trip to the Masai Mara. Hotel was impeccable. Grounds were well groomed and staff were fantastic. We were welcomed to the House of Waine and felt at home. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and we had a lovely view over the grounds. We wished we had had at least two nights here to recover from arriving in Nairobi.

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant as well as pre-dinner drinks by the fire. All in all this is a very special place and we would stay here again. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoddardhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a wonderful safari.

We look forward to hosting you again, hopefully for 02 or more nights.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a wonderful small, professionally run hotel. Thank you House of Waine management and staff for looking after me so well. Nothing here is to much trouble for this team. My room, Manyatta was perfect, it has everything a girl needed, mirrors and light all in the right places for hair and makeup! I have no problem in recommending this hotel and I will return on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Joanne,

It was indeed a pleasure for us to host you at House of Waine and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind feedback which is very encouranging to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The House of Waine is a beautiful, small, friendly hotel I was recommended to - and am happy to recommend to others. The staff were friendly and completely accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The Bustani is large and light, on the ground floor with direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linds584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my second stay at House of Waine and just like the first, it did not disappoint. The quaint inn is comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, and the staff is friendly and attentive. House of Waine is truly a luxurious inn and the perfect start to any luxury safari.

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides of the inn, and I prefer the rooms overlooking the back yard/pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BlairJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again, we appreciate your support and kind feedback.

We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and look foward to hosting you again on your next trip to Nairobi.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My first trip to Africa and I now understand the seduction!! The House of Waine is sublime! The staff were extraordinary,the house itself is full of class,food divine,a simply wonderful experience! Quite a distance from the chaos of Nairobi and the airport,so quiet and close to wonderful attractions such as Elephant orphanage,Giraffe centre,Karen Blixen museum,it was the perfect choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyRAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine on your first trip to Africa, we were honoured to host you.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also found time to enjoy the various attractions in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
535 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $369 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing