We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Luxurious grounds....quiet and serene setting just outside of Nairobi in Karen. Just where you want to be to see the best of Nairobi..David Sheldricks, Karen Blixen, Kazuri Bead factory, Flip flop recycle factory...all within a few miles. Perfect stop before or after your safari. Large, spacious rooms with top of the line amenities. Staff is impeccable! Food was delicious! Felt relaxed and invigorated...Loved hearing all the nightime sounds....great start for my safari..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joye96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We happily note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found time to explore the beautiful spots around Karen.

The whole House of Waine team appreciate your kind feed back and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    49
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
55
111
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped here for one night after Safari and before heading off to Zanzibar. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome and even set up a private dinner for us as we were on our honeymoon. The room was fantastic and both meals we ate there were delicious. The grounds are lovely and the hotel seemed to be in a more affluent area of Nairobi. If we are ever in need of a hotel in Nairobi again we will look nowhere else.

Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we had a great stopover there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It was a great pleasure to host you during your honeymoon and the whole team highly appreciates your kind feedback.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our stopover from the Masai Mara to the Seychelles as part of our honeymoon and we're very impressed by the hotel and grounds.

The hotel is situated in an upscale area of Nairobi with an amazing garden and pool. The restaurant was also good as we enjoyed the lunch (reasonably priced for a high end place). The service was friendly and very good and our room was amazing. We were upgraded for free to the top suite there which was massive.

All in all this is a very good boutique hotel in Nairobi and is right up there baed in Western standards as everything is in great shape and immaculately maintained. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were honored to host you during your honeymoon and are happy you had a memorable experience with us.

Thank you for your kind remarks and we look to welcoming you again in future.


House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent one night at House of Waine as we started our safari vacation. The staff is beyond outstanding in their attention to detail. Arriving late, they insisted it was no problem to ensure we had an excellent dinner. The waiter and cook came in two hours early the next morning to make sure we had a full breakfast prior to our early bush flight. We stayed in the largest bedroom, designated as the honeymoon suite. It was so large and with ceilings to high you could have played half court basketball in it. Furnishings we exquisite. Bathroom was immense. The view of the expansive gardens excellent. But most of all, the staff is a model at attention to your comfort and meeting every request or even unspoken need.

Room Tip: See if you can book the honeymoon suite. It is the magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are glad you chose House of Waine for your brief stay before safari and thank you for your kind comments.

We are happy to have made your stay memorable and look forward to welcoming you again.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

For business but far more enjoyable if it is for pleasure, the House of Waine is a haven in what can only be described as a chaotic city. The hotel is situated in Karen, close to all the activities that one would want to enjoy during a stay in Nairobi (the Elephant Orphange, Giraffe Centre, Kazuri Beads, Matbronze, Utamuduni, Tanamabo and of the course the Talisman). Grit your teeth and suffer the traffic to reach this hotel - it is worth it! Be warned however that if you have to travel across town to for example, Westlands, Muthiaga, Parklands etc. and you are travel at peak hours you could be in for a journey from hell.

The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed with perhaps the most comfortable beds I have slept on in Africa. The bathrooms are equally spacious and come equipped with a great range of toiletries, giant fluffy towels and powerful rain showers. Exceptionally, all contents of the minibar are complimentary!

The hotel is set in wonderful gardens with a good sized swimming pool and giant gazebo area to hide (if you choose) from the sun but still enjoying the outdoors.

We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts with very generous portions. Dinner was uninspiring although some of the soups were exceptional.

The staff however are what make this establishment worthy of 5*****, extremely helpful and friendly, I cannot praise them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate that though traveling on business, you created time to enjoy the wonderful spots in the hotel and the Karen area.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the House of Waine and were lucky enough to be allocated the largest room which was fabulous. All the staff in the total were brilliant, so helpful. The food at the hotel was just perfect. In addition we visited the local attractions, the elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary and the Karen Blixen museum. All fantastic. We were so pleased to be staying for 2 nights as there was so much to see in addition to enjoying the beautiful grounds of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we appreciate the great feedback. We are happy you spend two nights with us, enjoyed your stay and also took time to enjoy the lovely spots Karen has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent only one night at House of Waine at the outset of our recent two week photo safari....and wish it had been longer! The property is exquisite, the rooms were lovely, our breakfast was wonderful, and the service absolutley outstanding! We hated leaving the next morning. If we travel to Nairobi again we wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utahtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent photo safari and the encouraging feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay and hope to host you for longer during your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Ole Sereni
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing