We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #19 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived quite late after a very long journey expecting to be immediately ushered to our room. To our surprise, we were greeted and attended to by a very alert, professional and extremely friendly staff. My first impression...gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous; and that impression stayed throughout our short stay. Everything was beyond our expectations, food, grounds and oh that marvelous staff, they even helped us learn some basic Swahili. We couldn't have been more pleased. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pwani room; very spacious, looked out over the magnificent gardens. Quite lovely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Shus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are glad we were able to help you relax after a long trip as well as make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you for the great feedback as we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived at House of Waine about 10:15 pm after a 27 hour flight from California. We were immediately made welcome. We spent two nights and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful grounds. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. We had the best Snapper we've ever eaten. Edwin, Alex, Bernard, Douglas and the entire staff were there to make for a remarkable stay. We would recommend the House of Waine to anyone traveling to Nairobi, Kenya.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank docprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the great feedback. We are glad our facilities and staff made your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay in Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm pleased to read the reviews of House of Waine are still as I remember. We stayed at HoW back in 2005 when they just opened. It was my husbands' 30th birthday surprise and we Loved it! It was fabulous customer service and they created a very special private dining area for us on the day. It was very romantic, super service and good food. I got everything planned as I had asked for and they were more than generous:) i
I'm a very high maintanance type of gal and HoW went above and beyond to make this gal happy!!. It is very romantic so best for couples.
We still talk about it to this day but we left Kenya right afterwards and havent gotten a second chance to visit, whenever we move back to Kenya, we will definitely go back to HoW. I must add that it is quite pricy but worth it.
I would definitely recommend anyone that can visit it try out HoW. It's the gem of Nairobi suburbia!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are happy you have great memories from your stay with us and will be delighted to host you when you are back in Kenya..

We look forward to your visit.

Thank you on behalf of House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights and were overwhelmed by the attentive service and wonderful accommodation. Everything here is first class. We even arrived back from our day out with muddy shoes and the staff took them from us and cleaned them. Decorated in decadent leather and timber, this place has a warm and inviting feeling.
The food is sensational and the staff are very friendly. We are very pleased that we chose House of Waine as our accommodation in Nairobi and would recommend this place to anyone wanting a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are enormous and the bathrooms are palatial. Every room will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are glad you chose House of Waine and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your encouranging feedback and hope to host you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you on behalf of House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the welcome to departure, House Of Waine is a refuge from a sometimes hectic travel schedule. There is an atmosphere of relaxation, regrouping and restoration as every need is attended to one hundred percent. The grounds are amazing - the rooms superb. No attention to detail is missed - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1953MACAOIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Kenya is new to me, but since becoming a regular traveller to Nairobi in 2013, I have been delighted by my experiences at House of Waine. The location is ideal, close enough to the city, but set away in a green and quiet area close to many attractions. But it is not the location that thrills, but the House itself and the service one experiences. Set in its own gardens, this former private home feels exactly that, with numerous details worth writing home about eg rooms are not numbered but named, my favourite being Tembo, thus themed on elephants, Tembo meaning Elephant in Swahili, the menu is short but varies at lunch and dinner and all dishes are outstanding And finally the staff are wonderful, being courteous and always going the extra mile to assure one's comfort

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S-P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad your experiences with us are delightful.

We highly appreciate your feed back and the whole team look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was a very good experience. People are friendly and very helpful. Food is of a good standard, and the rooms are big and spacious. Wasn't a lot at the house but when there the staff was ready to help with anything.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank afrikanerbul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are honoured you chose us for your first trip to Kenya. We appreciate your great feedback and are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
535 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $369 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing