We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of Waine
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$196
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$206
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$511
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
212
52
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
52
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren blixen museumrose petalsdressing roomelephant orphanageboutique hotelkazuri bead factorybottle of champagnequiet oasissmall hotelpost safaritwo nightsnext morningcolonial stylewilson airportbeautiful roomrooms are spaciousnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 273 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the welcome to departure, House Of Waine is a refuge from a sometimes hectic travel schedule. There is an atmosphere of relaxation, regrouping and restoration as every need is attended to one hundred percent. The grounds are amazing - the rooms superb. No attention to detail is missed - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1953MACAOIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Kenya is new to me, but since becoming a regular traveller to Nairobi in 2013, I have been delighted by my experiences at House of Waine. The location is ideal, close enough to the city, but set away in a green and quiet area close to many attractions. But it is not the location that thrills, but the House itself and the service one experiences. Set in its own gardens, this former private home feels exactly that, with numerous details worth writing home about eg rooms are not numbered but named, my favourite being Tembo, thus themed on elephants, Tembo meaning Elephant in Swahili, the menu is short but varies at lunch and dinner and all dishes are outstanding And finally the staff are wonderful, being courteous and always going the extra mile to assure one's comfort

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S-P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad your experiences with us are delightful.

We highly appreciate your feed back and the whole team look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was a very good experience. People are friendly and very helpful. Food is of a good standard, and the rooms are big and spacious. Wasn't a lot at the house but when there the staff was ready to help with anything.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank afrikanerbul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are honoured you chose us for your first trip to Kenya. We appreciate your great feedback and are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband an I stayed at the House of Waine in Kenya in the charming suburb of Karen. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but near Giraffe, Manor, Karen Blixen Museum, bead factory, elephant orphanage and more. The service s definitely 5*; the staff goes out of their way to provide and please. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms (each different) are lovely and the restaurant food is really delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the backside of the building have beautiful views of the pool, manicured grounds and gardens.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank savvytravelgalDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We highly appreciate your great feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay in Nairobi often, and generally I am impressed with the standards of accommodation and the attitudes of hotel staff when I visit Kenya. House Of Waine, however, takes this to a whole new level in every way. I can honestly say that I have never stayed anywhere better! Set in a quiet location in Karen in a beautiful garden, with rooms that are extremely well appointed and staff who make you feel like a genuine guest, the overall experience is a special one. There were many small aspects of my stay there that are too numerous to mention - these, combined with attention to detail, made it so memorable that I really look forward to being able to stay there again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews