We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Kenya trip”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was a very good experience. People are friendly and very helpful. Food is of a good standard, and the rooms are big and spacious. Wasn't a lot at the house but when there the staff was ready to help with anything.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank afrikanerbul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are honoured you chose us for your first trip to Kenya. We appreciate your great feedback and are glad you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband an I stayed at the House of Waine in Kenya in the charming suburb of Karen. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but near Giraffe, Manor, Karen Blixen Museum, bead factory, elephant orphanage and more. The service s definitely 5*; the staff goes out of their way to provide and please. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms (each different) are lovely and the restaurant food is really delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the backside of the building have beautiful views of the pool, manicured grounds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank savvytravelgalDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We highly appreciate your great feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay in Nairobi often, and generally I am impressed with the standards of accommodation and the attitudes of hotel staff when I visit Kenya. House Of Waine, however, takes this to a whole new level in every way. I can honestly say that I have never stayed anywhere better! Set in a quiet location in Karen in a beautiful garden, with rooms that are extremely well appointed and staff who make you feel like a genuine guest, the overall experience is a special one. There were many small aspects of my stay there that are too numerous to mention - these, combined with attention to detail, made it so memorable that I really look forward to being able to stay there again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is amazing the staff helpful and very friendly. The food here is really amazing we had dinner here the last night of our trip and was blown away by how good it was (dinner first night was at Carnivore ) Its a small hotel with a nice pool and is very quiet.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were large and had really nice beds in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stukiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and the great feedback.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our second stay once in 2010 and again for 2 nights in early March 2013. This is wonderful place to relax after safari. Great food great staff. Very nice rooms and property. Feels like you are back in time. Pool is a great addition.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We were greatly honoured to host you for a second visit and we are glad you had a wonderful time.

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we highly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine for one night on the way back from our honeymoon at the Masai Mara and on the way to Mauritius.

We wish we could have stayed longer tho, bcoz the little and charming hotel was amazing!! We got upgraded to to the biggest suite in the house and with a wonderful balcony facing the pool.

We had a delicious and romantic dinner for only the two of us and the breakfast was delicious too!

Totally recommended and aproved!

Thanks to all the staff!

Greetings from Sweden,
Paula & Anders Lentell

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the great feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided to go on a volunteer vacation with "me to we", the first night we stayed at 'House of Waine'. It is located in the Karen area of Nairobi, it was very nice, absolutely beautiful decor, large rooms, swimming pool and lovely yard. It is also walking distance to 'Karen Blixen' museum. The staff was absolutely very welcoming and out of all the places I have visited, Kenyans are the nicest people!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback, we highly appreciate it.

We are glad you had a wonderful experience of our Kenyan experience.

Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
521 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,054 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
12.0 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#36 of 169 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $434 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing