We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“House of Waine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #13 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House of Waine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband an I stayed at the House of Waine in Kenya in the charming suburb of Karen. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but near Giraffe, Manor, Karen Blixen Museum, bead factory, elephant orphanage and more. The service s definitely 5*; the staff goes out of their way to provide and please. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms (each different) are lovely and the restaurant food is really delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the backside of the building have beautiful views of the pool, manicured grounds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank savvytravelgalDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We highly appreciate your great feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    46
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
102
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay in Nairobi often, and generally I am impressed with the standards of accommodation and the attitudes of hotel staff when I visit Kenya. House Of Waine, however, takes this to a whole new level in every way. I can honestly say that I have never stayed anywhere better! Set in a quiet location in Karen in a beautiful garden, with rooms that are extremely well appointed and staff who make you feel like a genuine guest, the overall experience is a special one. There were many small aspects of my stay there that are too numerous to mention - these, combined with attention to detail, made it so memorable that I really look forward to being able to stay there again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is amazing the staff helpful and very friendly. The food here is really amazing we had dinner here the last night of our trip and was blown away by how good it was (dinner first night was at Carnivore ) Its a small hotel with a nice pool and is very quiet.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were large and had really nice beds in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stukiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and the great feedback.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our second stay once in 2010 and again for 2 nights in early March 2013. This is wonderful place to relax after safari. Great food great staff. Very nice rooms and property. Feels like you are back in time. Pool is a great addition.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We were greatly honoured to host you for a second visit and we are glad you had a wonderful time.

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we highly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine for one night on the way back from our honeymoon at the Masai Mara and on the way to Mauritius.

We wish we could have stayed longer tho, bcoz the little and charming hotel was amazing!! We got upgraded to to the biggest suite in the house and with a wonderful balcony facing the pool.

We had a delicious and romantic dinner for only the two of us and the breakfast was delicious too!

Totally recommended and aproved!

Thanks to all the staff!

Greetings from Sweden,
Paula & Anders Lentell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the great feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided to go on a volunteer vacation with "me to we", the first night we stayed at 'House of Waine'. It is located in the Karen area of Nairobi, it was very nice, absolutely beautiful decor, large rooms, swimming pool and lovely yard. It is also walking distance to 'Karen Blixen' museum. The staff was absolutely very welcoming and out of all the places I have visited, Kenyans are the nicest people!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback, we highly appreciate it.

We are glad you had a wonderful experience of our Kenyan experience.

Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on safari for our honeymoon and stayed at the hotel before and after the trips to the bush. The staff was wonderful, place was lovely, and food was great. couldn't have asked for anything more when traveling through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing