We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #21 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on safari for our honeymoon and stayed at the hotel before and after the trips to the bush. The staff was wonderful, place was lovely, and food was great. couldn't have asked for anything more when traveling through.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 262 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at House of Waine with 16 colleagues and it was phenomenal. The conferencing facilities are up to par and I would recommend it as a conference destination for groups of 15 or fewer.

The rooms are very clean and all have a different theme and are tastefully decorated as is the entire house. The staff is friendly and call you by name from the moment you arrive, making you feel at home right away. Their menu is classic and there are a variety of items to pick from even at breakfast. The bread and muffins are home made and taste like heaven....

The grounds are manicured and tranquil offering several areas to relax including garden chairs and a lovely pool side.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a standing shower, be sure to request for that as some rooms only have a batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this facility for 2 nights it was nice affordable and a peaceful stay this is what we were looking for and sophisticated in all ways , nice food , clean rooms , great pool area over all worth staying but a little far of the city , but we never regretted it as it was what we were looking for.Thanks to all the management for making our first time stay in Africa a good one .

Room Tip: They have only 10 or 12 spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the House of Waine in June 2012 and it was beautiful. A very tranquil setting and nice pool. The only downside was the hideous traffic on the Langata Road due to construction to widen it to a dual carriageway. The staff was friendly and the food quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days on business. Was skeptical at first as I've always stayed in the city center in one of the international hotel chains.
This is truly a lovely hotel if you are looking for something relaxing and quiet. The hotel's got only 10/12 spacious rooms. My room had everything i needed including air conditioning. There's a lovely swimming pool and pool area where you can unwind after a day at work.
The restaurant only has a one-page menu, but the food was VERY good each and every night. Service was top-notch and all the staff very friendly - they even greet you on your name every day.

The only 2 things against the hotel: There's no gym and its quite far from the city center (only an issue if you need to go there)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a small, sophisticated hotel that was originally a very large house with expansive gardens. Although it has many of the same facilities of a small hotel, it remains more of a large gracious home. Each of the bedrooms is furnished in a different style that reflects it's name. The bathrooms are large and have showers and tubs. There's wireless throughout the estate.

I had the hotel/guesthouse on a B&B basis. In the evening there is a very stylish restaurant on property with a limited, but very good menu. Breakfast was served on a covered, light filled terrace overlooking the large pool.

It's not close to downtown, but when the construction on Longata Road is finished it will be just a few minutes from Wilson airport. The location is close to the Giraffe Center, the Sheldrick Foundation, the Blixen House, that bronze store and the #1 rated (Trip Advisor) gift shop. It is probably not a good idea for a quick turn around. I arrived early, and left late.

Room Tip: The rooms are large. The "suite" in the center of the house is immense..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night at House of Waine.My first impression when walking into House of Waine on arrival was ‘I’m in Africa’. The British colonial-plantation style décor took my imagination away with its sturdy mahogany cabinets as well as rattan chairs and leather colonial style seats. We stayed in the Bustani Room, very spacious with views over the gardens and large bathroom. The gardens and pool were well maintained and secured with razor fencing which helped me sleep sound that night. The restaurant food was good and breakfast was superb. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend House of Waine.

Room Tip: bastani room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 168 in Nairobi
518 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,295 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 168 in Nairobi
1,050 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
12.0 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#37 of 168 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $436 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing