We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet, peaceful, great service,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #13 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, great service,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days on business. Was skeptical at first as I've always stayed in the city center in one of the international hotel chains.
This is truly a lovely hotel if you are looking for something relaxing and quiet. The hotel's got only 10/12 spacious rooms. My room had everything i needed including air conditioning. There's a lovely swimming pool and pool area where you can unwind after a day at work.
The restaurant only has a one-page menu, but the food was VERY good each and every night. Service was top-notch and all the staff very friendly - they even greet you on your name every day.

The only 2 things against the hotel: There's no gym and its quite far from the city center (only an issue if you need to go there)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
100
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a small, sophisticated hotel that was originally a very large house with expansive gardens. Although it has many of the same facilities of a small hotel, it remains more of a large gracious home. Each of the bedrooms is furnished in a different style that reflects it's name. The bathrooms are large and have showers and tubs. There's wireless throughout the estate.

I had the hotel/guesthouse on a B&B basis. In the evening there is a very stylish restaurant on property with a limited, but very good menu. Breakfast was served on a covered, light filled terrace overlooking the large pool.

It's not close to downtown, but when the construction on Longata Road is finished it will be just a few minutes from Wilson airport. The location is close to the Giraffe Center, the Sheldrick Foundation, the Blixen House, that bronze store and the #1 rated (Trip Advisor) gift shop. It is probably not a good idea for a quick turn around. I arrived early, and left late.

Room Tip: The rooms are large. The "suite" in the center of the house is immense..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night at House of Waine.My first impression when walking into House of Waine on arrival was ‘I’m in Africa’. The British colonial-plantation style décor took my imagination away with its sturdy mahogany cabinets as well as rattan chairs and leather colonial style seats. We stayed in the Bustani Room, very spacious with views over the gardens and large bathroom. The gardens and pool were well maintained and secured with razor fencing which helped me sleep sound that night. The restaurant food was good and breakfast was superb. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend House of Waine.

Room Tip: bastani room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

House of Waine is an excellent place to stay in Karen, a tony suburb of Nairobi. We spent our first two nights there after our long flights from the west coast of the US. Excellent in every way! Very close to the elephant orphanage, giraffe manor and Karen Blixen's house/museum. Road construction makes getting there from either Nairobi airport a bit of a time consuming event, but it's worth it if you're interested in what's close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The House of Waine is located close to the Giraffe Center and is a good base for stay in Nairobi. We were not able to use the swimming pool because it was too cold in the morning and evening when we were at the hotel. We found the staff to be spectacular, from the kitchen to the crew that takes your bags and the managers. Unfortunately we weren't able to sleep because they had some 3am arrivals who were a noisy group and hung out in the hallway to chat until 5:30am. Our room was directly over the front desk so perhaps that contributed to the noise. I also found the bath tub/shower a bit awkward.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruzker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely, but it is a little out of the way and with Nairobi's traffic congestion can take more than an hour to get to from the city - this will probably be fixed with the new road that is under construction, but until then, if you want to visit the city, it might be better staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Victoria Room has a lovely claw foot bath (the only one) but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmbsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are looking for lush gardens; peace and quiet then this is the place to be. It has conference facilities and a swimming pool. the gardens are well maintained and it is placed in a quiet surrounding. this is perfect for those who want to be in the city but away from city noise and traffic. the food is also well thought of and nicely done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winnieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing