We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Authentic experience in the heart of Karen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic experience in the heart of Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband, daughters (13 and 11) stayed here in September. What a wonderful place. The location is perfect for visiting the Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen's house and Giraffe Manor. The rooms were spacious, well-appointed. The showers were exceptional. The staff was very nice. The food was superb. The young chef prepared some exceptional dishes each night. And, prepared some special things for our daughters. The breakfast was always good and on time. We befriended some of the staff and it made our experience even better. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: My daughters stayed in Tembo. We were next door in a room that was right over the kitchen. While i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
100
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed one night in a post-safari break before flying on to Dubai. The room was superb, the service excellent, but the food only passable. Unlike the big hotels in Nairobi, which could just as well be in Chicago, the House of Waine feels like Africa whilst offering superb accommodations, lovely grounds and an attentive staff. Dinner was okay, but not up to the standards of the accommodations. My wife and I have visited 12 countries in Africa (and more than 50 elsewhere), and the Malakai room is the best sub-Saharan accommodation in which we have stayed. Though expensive, the room rate is reasonable given the feeling of over-the-top, but sophisticated and subdued, luxury the room affords. Quiet, clean, huge, beautifullly decorated with an amazing private balcony overlooking the pool and garden, the room was one of the real high points of our month-long African tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
384 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a safe, upmarket suburb removed from the centre of Nairobi (which, unless you need to be there for whatever reason, is probably worth avoiding anyway). Highly personalised service, great rooms, wonderful setting and ambience. Not particularly cheap, but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Any room here I've stayed in here has been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a 5* boutique hotel in Nairobi. Pleasantly situated in Karen, with nice helpfull staff. All rooms have an individual theme. Great for people like things to be spot-on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinBloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed at this property pre safari. Great personal attention from the staff. Delicious food. Each room has a different feel with beautiful artwork and furnishings. Wonderful garden and pool. Close to Kazuri Bead Factory.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Having booked this property several times, and stayed myself several times, as a travel agent, I have to add my two cents. I find that this property was an excellent alternative to begin and/or end your safari. Seamless checkin, great rooms, good personal attention and good food. We, my group of six, found the staff to be accommodating and welcoming, anticipating our needs. While at the cabana, at least twice, attendants came over and asked if we needed anything, music was playing throughout. I found it quite a nice atmosphere. The decor throughout the property gave an authentic feel, in fact, several of my guests asked about many of the pieces on display throughout the property. I will definitely book this property again and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See if the Malaika suite is available...you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I had just arrived for our 1st night out and we had a very warm welcome and check in was very seamless. The rooms were excellent and the breakfast was mwah! Really loved it we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheq2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing