We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a 3 star at $360 a night!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Panari Hotel
Ranked #50 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
California
1 review
“This was a 3 star at $360 a night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

I like a nice place but $360. a night for this hotel was outragious.
The only thing good at the breakfast buffet was the omlette and the fruit.
Dinner in the Brazillian Steakhouse was a 3 at best, as all the meat was tough to chew.
The staff was very nice, the room was clean, the location was dangerous, the pool was freezing, the elevators were downright confusing.
This is not a 5 ***** hotel by any means. I would not stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shop4jeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    107
    96
    32
    32
See reviews for
32
51
55
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Very nice hotel with plenty of places to eat but not what I would call 5 star.
Always clean, drinks and food reasonable for hotel prices.
Very secure! If you want 5 star though, stay at the Intercontinental, which also has a casino.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank charlylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Panari Hotel and Sky Center would get better reviews if their room rate was in sync with their 3 star facility. Great view of Nairobi National Park. Food is good

  • Liked — Very convenient to anf from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HyderabadSanchari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Slow on all services...problems in room finding, be aware that altough they state that they have room, they don't!!! they will make you wait for hours for a free room. Average passable room with average breakfast... don't forget that you're in kenya so all that can be acceptable...final note..do not hesitate to raise your voice if needed..it works!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tyildirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

My wife and I had spent a fabulous time in the Masai Mara and then in Zanzibar on our honeymoon and were due to fly back to London on a night flight on September 29th. We chose to fly with Kenya Airways and were disappointed to learn that they had re-scheduled our flight to the following day. Our spirits were lifted by the news that they were going to put us up in a fine five star hotel, close to the airport, The Panari. A fellow traveller told us that it was not unusual for Kenya Airways to reschedule flights as this had happened to him four times out of six. So we assumed that they would know the routine for putting people up in a decent hotel, and we were business class travellers and had the right to expect this to be the case.
When we arrived at the hotel we found that the reception was two floors above a shopping mall and that the place was decorated like a cross between Art Deco and Star Trek with a huge dollop of tackiness thrown in. All quite amusing. What was not amusing in the least was the crowd of angry people asking for rooms at the desk, and all of them being told that "your room is being cleaned". There must have been about forty people who were getting increasingly tired and irritable as this line was trotted out. We were all told to go to the restaurant to enjoy the buffet that they had laid on there. What an abomination that was - the design of the hotel was bad, but the food was utterly attrocious and the waiting staff were rude, disinterested and the epitome of job dissatisfaction.
This hotel has some serious management problems, coupled with a woeful attitude to guest relations. The confusion over rooms continued for several hours, with many people not getting accomodated until 3am - having arrived at 8pm. My wife and I were lucky enough to get a room after only 3 hours of waiting, and after eating a tiny amount of the utterly repugnant buffet in the Red Garnet. When we got to our room - which actually was well appointed and had a large bed, we found that the sheets had not been changed.
To call this a five star hotel is laughable. The trouble is that the only people laughing are the owners of the hotel who take bookings from unsuspecting tourists and visiting business people who assume that five stars guarantees quality of service, food and accomodation. My advice to anyone would be that this place is a five star rip off and you will be very sorry if you do waste your money here. Stay away - and don't fly Kenya Airways in a hurry either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ganesh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We were in the Panari hotel for 1 night due to our flight home being cancelled and it made up for the disruption. The hotel,the staff, the room and the food were excellent. When we visit Nairobi again we would certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Med / UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We spent the last night of our honeymoon here, and had a great time. The free honeymoon package was the most comprehensive in any of the hotels we stayed in- flower petal decoration, fruit plate, free bottle of wine etc etc. The room was huge, decorated in a 70's Austin Powers theme which makes you laugh out loud when you first walk in. The staff were efficient and helpful.

There are several restaurants, although not that great for vegetarians - the only one that looked appealing couldn't take cards, so we ended up with room service twice. The first time was lunch, which wasn't great, but the dinner we ordered was nice, so I think it is luck of the draw.

We chose the hotel because of our early flight - we didn't want a long commute. It is 10 mins from the airport, the transfers are efficient and comfortable, and the hotel is fun for a night. It is tall building, with other facilities on the first 2 floors, we didn't realise there was an ice skating rink until too late! Overall an extremely good experience, very much recommended if you have a night stop over.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#35 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#31 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boma Inn Nairobi
Boma Inn Nairobi
#42 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Property: The Panari Hotel
Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing