We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Panari Hotel
Ranked #46 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
NYC, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Our flight was cancelled and we were stranded at the airport in Nairobi. This accomodation was arranged by Kenya airline. Very nice hotel! Everything was sparkling clean. Room was very tastefully designed and comfortable. Hotel staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Hotel restaurant featured hot and cold buffet with delicious food, plenty of choices and abundance of food (we had dinner and breakfast). Wait staff were a bit slow and unattentive (to clean plates off the table, with drinks, etc.), but it did not matter, we were not in rush. I would definitely go back and I recommend this hotel without reservation. Even though we only stayed for 1 night, it was a very pleasant experience. We loved it.

  • Liked — room, cleanliness, food and friendly staff
  • Disliked — slow, unattentive wait staff at the restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    101
    93
    29
    32
See reviews for
29
48
55
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

The Panari was obviously built to host westerners. It is near the location of the former US Embassy that was bombed in 1998. The hotel includes a shopping area and food court and even a small ice rink. The fitness center is well-stocked with weight and cardio equipment. The spa has a large indoor pool, dry and wet sauna…for no extra fee. Not the case for internet connection which runs about $8 per hour or about $35 for unlimited 24 hours. Connection is slow, but handled Skype video calls OK. The shopping area has two travel agencies that can make arrangements for one day or multiple day safaris. The food court meals of Chinese, Indian and will run you $10-12. There is a Brazilian restaurant with BBQ meat buffet that runs about $40 and a Middle Eastern place that runs about $20 a meal and has a great view of the Nairobi game park just across the busy road. There is a bank with an ATM where you can get Kenyan money…many places do not take credit cards. The hotel is close to the international airport, but about 30 minutes outside of the downtown area. If you are flying in to meet someone at your hotel, or have business near the airport, this is a decent place to stay. It would also be a good place to start a safari vacation. Cabs into town will run you about $10-12 each way.

  • Liked — Close to Airport
  • Disliked — Remote from central business district
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeseConey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

I stayed here just one night whilst in Kenya on business. The room was very neat and clean and the staff friendly, but the place just has no soul. I could have been in any city in the world - there was no hint that you were in Kenya unless you looked out of the windows. If you do have to stay here request a room with views over the National Park - much nicer than the city view to the rear.

  • Liked — Views of the National Park
  • Disliked — Soulless feel to the place
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredandweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Why run the risk of down town Nairobi when this gem is only 6 miles away from the Intl Airport.

Although only a 24 hour stopover this hotel should carry a 4* rating.

The staff (all local Kenyans) are well spoken, educated and freindley in a true sense. Smiles around.

The hotel itself sits within a complex that offers a good selection of food outlets, Ice Rink ! disco and a few bars.

More importanley its location is a must for going on Safari

Dont' miss the Brazilian Pampa Churrascaria Steak House which serves more that 12 cuts of meat incliding local game including the likes of Camel and Crocodile. All swallowed down by cool Tusker Lager.

  • Liked — Service, location and view of National park
  • Disliked — No Roof Terrace Bar !
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

The Panari is a perfectly pleasant, immaculately clean hotel near Nairobi airport. With a late-afternoon arrival and a morning departure, we had neither the time nor the interest to go into Nairobi, especially as we had heard that traffic was really bad at rush hour. The Panari is just ten minutes from the airport, and the hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up. It is in the middle of nowhere though, on the road to the airport, so if you want to see or spend time in Nairobi, this is not the place. Nonetheless, it is a very modern hotel, with all the expected amenities including TV, bottled water, and toiletries. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and there was a nice fruit plate waiting for us in the room. The service throughout the hotel was excellent: someone helped us with our bags, and check-in was quick. Our rate included the breakfast buffet in the morning: it was a huge spread, and the food was excellent, including eggs, breakfast meats, Indian-spiced vegetables, breads, fresh fruits, juices, and really good coffee. Again, the service was excellent. The buffet begins at 6:30 am, giving us just enough time to eat before leaving for the airport. The attached shopping mall was a big disappointment, with very few shops, though it was pretty cool to see the ice skating rink - the only one in Kenya. There was also a large indoor pool. No complaints whatsoever, and highly recommended if you are passing through Nairobi airport, need a place to stay that's relatively close, and don't want to spend an arm and a leg.

  • Liked — Convenience to Nairobi Airport; Cleanliness; Breakfast Buffet
  • Disliked — Shops in adjoining mall were a disappointment.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaa1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville,Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Desk staff and night manager rude and very unhelpful.
We were booked into a day room. and arrived around 4:30 in the afternoon.Room was supposed to be available until we left for our flight( ~8:30). Staff told us we would have to exit room by 6:00 P.M. We explained that we had booked it until our transit to the airport. They were not willing to let us stay in room until 8:30 ( which would have been only 4 hours in room). I will not stay there again. Also - the decor is some 60's Space Jetson's theme. Very dated.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuburnTiger84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Traveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Excellent hotel, the staff were very polite and helpful, very close to the airport and the national park ... Rooms Big and bathrooms modern...
The Pub Shooters & Dips was excellent, with the different variety of cocktails and i missed out on the show the next day as i was flying out.
Lovely Hotel

  • Liked — Shooters & Dips
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleroil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#33 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Property: The Panari Hotel
Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#31 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing