We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Harare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed there one night in transit very modern , probably the only post 5-star hotel in Kenya , delays in checking in , not so great shopping mall down stairs . Great rooms well furnished. The dinning area way too colour full could not figure out what was going on . Arrived late and told food was out so the scrambled something for me to eat was not impressed at all.
Not sure i would stay there again but would love to pass through and find out if the situation has changed , great potential for the place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., MANAGING DIRECTOR at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Allen.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback. And we are grateful that you liked our rooms. We have in the past months focused on product improvement and service delivery and we can confidently say that our check-in and check –out process has been enhanced by introduction of express check-in and check out. We have since opened Black Gold Café on ground floor that serves various meals and signature coffees and other beverages. A new bar lounge is soon to be opened on 1st floor while plans are in place to enhance the interior decor the restaurant on 3rd floor. Your next visit should give you an excellent experience and we genuinely look forward to hosting you at The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    84
    28
    29
See reviews for
26
47
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Looks like it was built in the 1980's and not much has changed. Rooms have not been upgraded, elevator runs very slowly, breakfast starts when it starts (not earlier if you are trying to catch a plane) all slightly shabby and depressing. Long and bureaucratic checkout procedure involving several people (took longer to check out than to get to the airport). And all for $250/night. Tried to charge me for 2 nights despite my arrival at 11PM the night before leaving at 6 AM. Not my idea of how to spend that kind of money frankly.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the road - maybe you'll be able to see some game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Accept our thanks for the comments you posted on trip advisor recently. We appreciate your comments as they gave us an opportunity to look inwardly and consider what we should do differently to satisfy our customers.
As you may have noticed when you stayed here in October, the property was undergoing massive upgrades and as we speak, most of these projects are coming to completion. We now have a magnificent coffee lounge on the ground floor and a world class wine bar on the first floor.
We acknowledge the need to carry out continuous property upgrades to match the growing demands of the modern traveler.
The construction works may have contributed to the inconvenience suffered and we wish to express our sincere apologies for this.
As for the breakfast, It is quite unfortunate that you missed out on this. Ordinarily we would prepare breakfast for guests with early departures if communicated in advance.
I also wish to confirm that the installation of new elevators is on-going and you will be sure of a better experience on your next stay.
It is my hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Kind regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our trip o L'Ami was cancelled until the next day. So we stayed at the planarian hotel. Convenient to the Nairobi airport. Clean rooms. Decent buffet breakfast and friendly staff. If you are stuck overnight a good pace to stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked in after 3 nights at the Ole Sereni due to lack of availability at OS due to late change in plans. Immediately on arrival the difference is noticeable. The whole premise of the hotel is one where the hotel has several restaurants but only one which is affiliated to the hotel. The staff appear not to be trained to the same standard and are not attuned to the customer in the same way good hotels are. The decor is dated and the although the rooms are comfortable, they are getting tired.
Breakfast is fine but there was no fresh fruit juice on the day I ate there. The chef (kitchen hand) appeared with a pre-diluted plastic canister and filled the 'juice' container which put me right off. Fresh juice is in abundance in Kenya.
In all, a comfortable enough hotel for one night, in a good location but it doesn't live up to its self-proclaimed 4/5 star status, or anywhere near it.

Room Tip: Travel another half mile, spend a little more, and stay at the Ole Sereni! If you do stay at the Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Quite a lovely place with a view to the Nairobi National Park.Close to the airport but further from Nairobi town and with traffic even further.with heavy traffic?unbearable.Warm welcome and friendly staff,a clean and neat place and full of activities.The skatting area is lovely,but atleast more trainers should be employed

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eiyshah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Eiyshah

We are grateful that you chose to stay at The Panari Hotel and even took your time to review our property on this platform.

Your compliments on the property and staff are highly appreciated and your recommendation for additional trainers at the skating area is well received.

From the time you stayed with us, we’ve been engaged in property improvement and we now have additional food and drink outlets. This is with the intention of making sure that our guests see no need to sit in the heavy traffic to the city.

We desire to make our hotel the most convenient and comfortable place to stay without missing your flight.

It is my hope that we will be granted another chance to host you on your next trip to Kenya.

With regards,
The Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

i think this is the 2nd best hotel relatively close to the airport. Nearby is the better Sereni Hotel, which used to be the temporary U.S. embassy. i assume the Sereni is more expensive. The sereni has better (and more expensive) restaurants.

The Panari is in a huge building, with multiple restaurants, shops, an ice skating rinkk, a disco and a great lounging area. The rooms are too small and too expensive for the price...but is typical for Africa.

There is NO hotel at the airport...think one is planned but will probably take years due to rampant graft and corruption in Kenya which makes everythimg slow and inefficient. The panari and sereni are the closest to the airport...downtown nairobi is much further, especially in bad traffic. The Panari is about 15" from the airport in light traffic and only 30" in heavy traffic. Downtown is 2 hours from the airport in heavy traffic.

If you want to stay in the best area, that is by the embassies. Downtown has the 2nd best hotel area. Westlands is the good entertainment area-near downtown. There is not much around the panari and sereni, but between the disco at panari and restaurants at both there is something to do,

Wednesdays, there is a big local craft market at the CapitalCentre-local shopping center-about 9 km towards the city. It is worth it if you want local stuff at cheap prices. For taxis, and local goods, u need to bargain HARD! The locals will rip u off if they can. The Capital Centre has a movie theatre, a great Indian restaurant and a big salon, among other things. The salon has manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, hair-everything and the prices are very reasonable.

For safety, no walking about after sundown, take a taxi...and use a taxi from the hotel grounds-get their name and number-call them when u need a taxi anywhere in nairobi- they will come pick you or will send a reliable taxi to pick you. Do not use a random taxi at night.

Like all places in nairobi, their are full and part time hookers in the disco and bars. if u dont like the girls there, i'm sure you can ask about anyone at the hotel and they will tell you how to find different girls...either where to go or sent to your room. also im 99% sure they have boys available too, for te ladies or the guys.

Room Tip: a room away from the major mombasa road will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atpcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Atpcliff,

We do acknowledge your effort to review our property and neighborhood following your visit in March, 2012.

Indeed this is valuable information to our management and other travelers as well.

As is our service improvement plan, We have been engaged in property improvement activities over the last year to ensure that our guests receive value for money.

This is a continuous exercise to keep the hotel at per with the modern travelers’ demands.

We would appreciate if you considered staying with us again to enjoy the renewed freshness.

Kind regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We have 100 pax dinner the first floor The Walnut hall the service was very good and food specially Biryani was so good all the guest was enjoying. And serive by the hotel team was very good the indian food was enjoyed by many local Guys.
If any party in nairobi I will prefer the same hotel .

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dayaker Reddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Dayaker,

It was great serving your team from Printpack during your event that took place at The Panari Hotel.

We are honored to have been entrusted with the hosting of your guests and indeed we are glad to hear that your enjoyed the party.

Your compliments have been extended to the entire team that committed their service to you.

We are grateful for the assurance of future support and we do assure you of excellent service at all times.

Thank you for taking your time to review our property.

Kind regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Property: The Panari Hotel
Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing