We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sportsview Hotel
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Waterbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

my name is Alice moi, i travellevd t my homeland Kenya in march 12th to sports view hotel with my son, i came that nite with all my family who came to meet us at the airport. The welcoming in the hotel was amazing and the staffs are wonderful, my five night's stay was good and everyone was so friendly, I thank the management and all the staffs, especially the nite front dext lady which i just forgot her name but she remembers me i believe, also the waiters, thank you all for your service and hope to see you again soon. God bless you all.

Alice moi.

Room Tip: setting of the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

A very nice place to stay in Nairobi. The hotel is an area with many buildings and garden restaurants under palm trees surrounded by a wall and a gate. It is clean, rooms have mosquito nets, food is good, staff friendly and helpful. The place is safe, we didn't have any problems leaving our things in the room. You can have a swim in a nice pool. There is a buffet breakfast, so you can try african specialities like arrowroots and ugali or you can have a classic english breakfast - porridge, ham, eggs, toast, baked beans, coffe, tea... I recommend this place to everyone. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was recommended to stay at this hotel by an American friend who visits Nairobi regularly. The hotel was clean and extremely safe as it is enclosed with a wall and gate. The hotel is far outside of downtown Nairobi.

The food was just ok but wasn't great. The best part of the dining experience were the juices they offered.

The rooms have a window above the door and the lights on in the hallways at night are an annoyance if you need complete darkness to sleep. The hallways also echo so you might hear noise at night but while I was there most guest were aware, considerate and respectful of this.

If you want a lower priced hotel that you will feel completely safe in, this would be a great one to consider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hogsraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

I was booked into this hotel by a Kenyan friend who lives nearby. I may not have found it otherwise, as you do have to leave the made up road for a short distance before arriving into the grounds. Don't let this put you off though - the area feels pretty safe and my friend assured me that security within the hotel grounds is excellent.

The staff at the hotel are excellent and very accommodating. They are eager to meet the expectations of their guests and are responsive to any comments or complaints. The atmosphere is informal and relaxed whilst remaining professional. My well-furnished, en-suite room was spotlessly clean and well-maintained throughout my stay.

I was booked in on a bed and breakfast rate and also ate dinner (either in the restaurant or open air bar area) each evening. Full board rates were available. Both the bed & breakfast rate and the meal prices were very reasonable.

Despite having stayed in a higher profile Nairobi hotel in the past, I will certainly book the Sportsview again out of choice in the future.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank ManFromManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

This Hotel is a about a hundred yards up a dirt track off the main road. It's 12 km away from the centre of Nairobi and this must be the reason why the prices are so much cheaper. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable. The food was reasonable. Certainly plenty to eat at the breakfast buffet. Eggs were cooked how you wanted by a member of staff who waited for your order.
Evening meal was either a three course buffet or "something and chips" type stuff in the outside club area.
From my room (in the Northern wing, which is the most modern wing) I looked down on herons making a nest in the tree just outside my window.
Mosquito nets were in the rooms but I never saw any. Probably because rooms were sprayed each night just about sunset. For those wanting comfort without an exhorbitant price, this hotel has to be worth considering. According to a friend who travelled with me, this was better than other far more expensive hotels he had stayed at in Nairobi

Helpful?
19 Thank DaveEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Hotel LaMada
Hotel LaMada
#88 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Luke Hotel
The Luke Hotel
#99 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
18.0 mi away
Blue Posts Hotel
Blue Posts Hotel
#58 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Utalii Hotel
Utalii Hotel
#104 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#41 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birmingham Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsview Hotel

Property: Sportsview Hotel
Address: Kasarani Road | Thika Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sportsview Hotel established in 1986 is conveniently located and reasonably priced. Its central location and access to major transport hubs makes it an excellent choice for a base for a holiday in Kenya.Situated 12 km north of Nairobi, the "City in the Sun", Sportsview Hotel is strategically placed along the ultra-modern Thika Superhighway and approximately 30 minutes drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, it has the unique blend of the tranquility of a Country Inn and all the modern amenities of an international city hotel.Set out in flowery, well-manicured, spacious gardens, it is an especially enticing venue for business firms and professional organizations who wish to host seminars, workshops, conferences and even tour groups seeking unique accommodation with a different but tranquil atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sportsview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing