We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The place to relax just outside the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistling Thorns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Thorns
Ranked #96 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place to relax just outside the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Only an hour away from JKIA I've stayed at this little slice of paradice on several occasions and have never been disappointed...............nice ammenities, really freindly staff, good food what more could one ask for

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lred4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A small hotel 13Kms from Kiseriain on your way to Isinya. Alot of peace and quiet-good if you want to just have a sober conversation with your important other/ have a retreat or read books. The restaurant has no music. Went to this place with a few friends based on the reading on the website-A good place for families or retreats. Go if you want the Quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvester-Korir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went to Whistling Thorns for a quite afternoon with family. My son and sweet wife enjoyed their swimming to the fullest.

The food was really tasty and like home made...an culinary experience I do remember till now. The entry to the facility is however bit hidden with poor signage to lead you. Especially, once you take the left turn at the main junction off Kiserian main road to the lead road, you will find yourself stopping people by the road to ask about the entrance to the attraction.

Were it not for some people walking near our vehicle, my son while running up and about, was almost mauled by one of the many dogs that loiter within the compound and to date he seems not to like the idea of going back there.

The drive to the venue is also soothing...A true road trip feeling.. I would highly recommend this facility to families, groups of friends or anyone willing to try out something less formal. the waiters are really good and first and the place has a lot of life from interested patrons.

All the same it was time well spent away from the hustles and bustles of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had heard of it but had never been. General location is superb and grounds perfect for big groups activities. The children enjoyed the swimming though I would suggest a baby pool too for small babies. We loved the nyama and accompaniments.

I would recommend it to those who dont want to travel so far from city yet want to forget the busy world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passion2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have not spent the night at WT, but have eaten there many times over the last few years. Food is marvelous, lovely outdoor dining. Next time, may try a cabin....rest rooms very clean! Great spot to sit back and chill!

Kitty Watson

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo4pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked my father to stay here when he came to visit me while I was living in Kenya. What a wonderful spot to stay! I was living up the road at the time, and the couple who owns it actually drove him to my house a couple times, since they didn't think he needed to walk.

The pool was lovely, and food was great. A perfect getaway from Nairobi, and a chance to see game before officially entering any parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AisyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a nice quiet getaway from the bustle of Nairobi. There is nothing nearby except for a beautiful sunset. I especially enjoyed the birds that visit. They feed them to get them to come. It was very relaxing to stay there and the beds were comfortable and had mosquito nets. There were nice outdoor sitting areas. The food was good and the coffee was made in a french press.. yum!

My only disappointment was that the bathrooms were needing an upgrade. There was no shelf to put your things on near the sink. There was also no shelf for your soap and shampoo in the shower. The shower head was old and sprayed in all directions.

Room Tip: Bring your shower supplies in something that can hang from a hook. You can hook it over the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peajay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Thorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Thorns

Property: Whistling Thorns
Address: Kiserian Isenya Pipeline Road | Kajiado, Nairobi 00206, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistling Thorns is one hour from Nairobi overlooking the Ngong Hills in an untouristy part of the country. It is a peaceful quiet place with swimming pool and splendid views and bar/restaurant with home cooked meals. There is a golf driving range, and you can go horse riding or walking. There are plenty of birds and you may see zebras and gazelles. It is a lovely place to relax before or after your safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Thorns Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing