We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to start your Kenya adventures”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Ranked #12 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed April 17, 2014

For those arriving at Jomo Kenyatta airport in Nairobi, it can be very stressful to make the drive into Nairobi for your first night's stay in Kenya. I'd recommend travelers consider instead to make a detour to peaceful Karen. We did just that and stayed at the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages. We arrived around 11 PM, exhausted from our 16 hour flight from the U.S. When we got there we immediately became absorbed into the world of "Magical Kenya". KB staff greeted us immediately to take our bags to our cottage. We feel in love with our cottage immediately and, after washing up, we delighted in the fact the nearby Tamarind restaurant. There, we enjoyed nightcap drinks and delicious samosas. In one hour we went from an exhausted to a euphoric state of well being. We had a great night's sleep and preceded to enjoy a "no agenda" day of visiting the nearby Karen Blixen museum, more wonderful meals at Tamarind, reading outside our cottage, taking a siesta, and yes, utilizing the KB internet connection to briefly text family we arrived safely in Kenya and that we were already in a heavenly place. A word of caution: Leave your American way of time behind and enjoy "Pole' Pole" (Swahili for "take it slowly") in the relaxed setting of Karen Blixen cottages. Hats off too to the wonderful Karen Blixen staff for being so gracious during our stay.

Room Tip: All of the cottages seemed to be well situated for relaxation and enjoying the well maintained Karen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pvirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My first stop in Kenya was here at the cottages. the cottage was spacious , clean, and beautiful. Wonderful, friendly service too! Great gift shop and dining. In great location for the Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Center , and Elephant Orphanage, by car. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our introduction to Kenya and we felt so welcome and indeed very safe! Our room was extremely comfortable, if a bit of a walk from reception. We had a pleasant drink and meal in a restaurant next door. I have no idea how central the hotel is as Nairobi traffic is a nightmare! It did take over an hour to get to Wilson airport which probably isn't far away! But the hotel had a lovely atmosphere, a feeling you were out of town. I would much prefer to be here than in the centre of Nairobi. Thanks to our tour company, Africa Born, for finding this lovely location for our first night!

Room Tip: The rooms ramble far away from the central hub. I would ask for a room as close as possible to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were delighted to find this restaurant set up in the area which had previously been part of the Karen Blixen farm.
The setting is great - we ate outside where widely spaced tables and a choice of shade or sun made the experience a relaxing one, even if there was the odd tourist/expat yarping into their mobile.
The menu is wide ranging, and we started with excellent deep fried tempura prawns, followed by fish and lamb tangine respectively. The fish was average +, but the lamb tangine excellent.
Service was excellent - prompt and friendly. Wine a little pricey, but good.
We will go back - with friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We spend two nights here upon arrival in Nairobi. The cottages are set in a lush green spacious garden with a swimming pool. The cottage interior itself looks a bit dated and plenty of mosquitos, so make sure to bring repellent. The food in the restaurant which is just 50 metres away on the same grounds was of good quality with lots of locals having their meals here too. Do note that particularly on weekend evenings the bar gets rather noisy. The Sheldrick Elephant orphanage is about a 20 min. Ride on a good time of the day. I can recommend visiting the Bomas where various tribal dances and music are shown.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful,restful spot. The meals are excellent and reasonably priced. Want something simple? Great hamburgers! Wait staff pleasant and accommodating. Make sure to read the history on bill boards to the right as you enter from the parking lot. Fascinating

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColombeBluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
547 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#21 of 169 in Nairobi
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#22 of 169 in Nairobi
267 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $246 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing