We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My first stop in Kenya was here at the cottages. the cottage was spacious , clean, and beautiful. Wonderful, friendly service too! Great gift shop and dining. In great location for the Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Center , and Elephant Orphanage, by car. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lavirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
33
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our introduction to Kenya and we felt so welcome and indeed very safe! Our room was extremely comfortable, if a bit of a walk from reception. We had a pleasant drink and meal in a restaurant next door. I have no idea how central the hotel is as Nairobi traffic is a nightmare! It did take over an hour to get to Wilson airport which probably isn't far away! But the hotel had a lovely atmosphere, a feeling you were out of town. I would much prefer to be here than in the centre of Nairobi. Thanks to our tour company, Africa Born, for finding this lovely location for our first night!

Room Tip: The rooms ramble far away from the central hub. I would ask for a room as close as possible to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were delighted to find this restaurant set up in the area which had previously been part of the Karen Blixen farm.
The setting is great - we ate outside where widely spaced tables and a choice of shade or sun made the experience a relaxing one, even if there was the odd tourist/expat yarping into their mobile.
The menu is wide ranging, and we started with excellent deep fried tempura prawns, followed by fish and lamb tangine respectively. The fish was average +, but the lamb tangine excellent.
Service was excellent - prompt and friendly. Wine a little pricey, but good.
We will go back - with friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We spend two nights here upon arrival in Nairobi. The cottages are set in a lush green spacious garden with a swimming pool. The cottage interior itself looks a bit dated and plenty of mosquitos, so make sure to bring repellent. The food in the restaurant which is just 50 metres away on the same grounds was of good quality with lots of locals having their meals here too. Do note that particularly on weekend evenings the bar gets rather noisy. The Sheldrick Elephant orphanage is about a 20 min. Ride on a good time of the day. I can recommend visiting the Bomas where various tribal dances and music are shown.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful,restful spot. The meals are excellent and reasonably priced. Want something simple? Great hamburgers! Wait staff pleasant and accommodating. Make sure to read the history on bill boards to the right as you enter from the parking lot. Fascinating

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MetsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombeBluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had such a great meal, we sat outside, heard the birds, our lunch was amazing, we also had a beautiful wine that was made in south Africa. The staff were excellent there, very happy to serve you, the environment we just so pleasant, Love every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Juliette282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Property: Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing