We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage - Gigiri” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage - Gigiri

The Cottage - Gigiri
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage - Gigiri
Ranked #125 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cottage - Gigiri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Located in a serene environment and close proximity to major social amenities is this exceptional abode, The Cottage -Gigiri. The facility offers pristine atmosphere for relaxing after a long trip or an eventful day. The ambience is complemented by warm and welcoming staff and excellent facility to make your stay memorable. The cottage is located near the UN Offices in Nairobi and the Village Market shopping complex, thus providing a safe and ideal location for international guest attending meetings at the UN offices and a convenient location for shoppers of both local and international brands. I highly recommend everybody visiting Nairobi to try this facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice location, friendly staff, walking to main UN offices, also to village shopping center, staff very caring , perfect for work and relax, amazing atmosphere , you really feel at home once you check in, smiley organised management , I recommend it to all UN staff , very secured

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank AAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome by the kind staff, who took good care of us from the first minute on. Situated in a quiet and safe neighbourhood of Nairobi, near Embassies and the likes, it made for a great home base on my first trip to the city.
Rooms were spacious and clean, also the bathrooms, the staff was warm and friendly, and we had a hearty breakfast each morning before heading out.
The Cottage has my warmest recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Cottage is a former Villa transformed into a Guest house, surrounded by a nice garden.
There are two different kind of rooms: en suite and to share.
Due to the limited amount of rooms, one can be assured to enjoy great service and a very warm welcome.
The house has a kitchen, which makes especially a longer stay more convenient: one can store food in the fridge and cook when desired.
Laundry machine at your disposal, TV in room or for the "homey" experience in the living room.
Located just behind one of Nairobi´s biggest and nicest malls - Village Market - it is easy to do something one hardly ever does there: walk.
Mattresses are a bit hard, which we loved!

I have to say my 5 points mainly go to The Cottage, because it fills a gap hardly found in Nairobi - if you do not want to choose between pricey 5 star hotels or shabby "3" star places, this is the perfect place to go!

Room Tip: As mentioned above, one might want to choose between en suite and to share. Verify before your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pakatika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the cottage for 3 nights and I must admit it gave me a feeling of home away from home, the service was great the rooms clean and the breakfast was delicious. Something that I also liked was how esy it was to get around from the cottage. If you are in Nairobi and looking for a place to stay this is definately the place to go.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at the cottage for two weeks, its a beautiful place, loved the food, the staff were friendly WiFi enabled me to continue with work while away from the office.

I would recommend The Cottage, if you are in Kenya for business or leisure

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#66 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#64 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#80 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
LAICO Regency Hotel
#82 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage - Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage - Gigiri

Property: The Cottage - Gigiri
Address: 74 UN Crescent, Gigiri | PO Box 41915, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Guest House is an ultra modern B&B focused on providing international standards for the business, leisure and transit traveller. We pride ourselves in providing high quality, unrivaled value and superior comfort; elements that can be felt throughout our ambiance, amenities and services. Ideally located in the same vicinity as the UN offices, a host of international embassies & mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage - Gigiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing