We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Indian Cuisine in NBO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bukhara

Bukhara
Ranked #244 of 479 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Cuisine in NBO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wonderful Indian restaurant with a lot of nice dishes, helpful staff and a good location. I normally spend around 24 hrs only before going on a safari and I'd definitely visit again for a lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bujumbura, Burundi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quite overrated - average to poor quality in my case”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I don't know who has written the previous positive reviews but i can only say that the Bukhara Restaurant was empty at noon (not a good sign) and the taste was pretty boring. They brought a very eye pleasing plate of vegetables but you could tell by the dry skin that those vegetables were cut hours ago. The curry didn't have a creamy sauce and did almost have no flavor. Again of lack of freshness. The naan was good and the terrace is nice but sorry, no recommendation from my side.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonorsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Bukhara is the previous Zafferano which was an Italian Restaurant. It has now been converted to an Indian restaurant but with same furniture and interior decor.
The outside terrace area is a smoking section and you can enjoy a couple of beers and the evening breeze.
Try the chicken tikka and paneer tikka. Too good.
I loved the service. Waiters were prompt to attention. owner came and spoke to each table amicably and checked if we were doing good. We requested an off menu item and to our surprise and delight the chef prepared it for us!
It is definitely a much better restaurant than other 'traditional' veg restaurants in Westlands and I would recommend the chicken / Paneer tikka masala for main course

It is slightly pricey, but definitely worth the money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely New Indian in Westlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently visited this restaurant with a friend. The food was scrumptious (lamb rogan, chicken tikka masala and garlic naan), good wine list, prices reasonable and staff friendly and attentive. We chose to sit in the outside terrace area which enabled us to feel the breeze and enjoy the atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Authentic Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Proper authentic Indian cuisine, the restaurant itself is quite elegant - perfect for business meals especially lunch on the terrace. 
Absolutely delicious, gorgeous flavours and the best Chiken tikka masala you will ever find. Desserts are absolutely divine.


Plenty of hassle -free parking also a big plus. 

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S_McILROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukhara also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Bukhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing