We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second time, everything was fine”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Millys Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nairobi

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sam M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid Millys Place, It is a scam!”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
8
people found this review helpful

I booked Millys Place, Nairobi for November 17 to 19 (Booking # BR18640790-1), paying $56.75 through Tripadvisor, using my credit card. I received an email confirming my payment, and giving me Millys' contact number and email address. I arrived in Nairobi on November 17 afternoon and called the contact number given (+254020724757340). Unfortunately and shocking the number is not working, out of service! I sent three emails to the email address provided in the payment acknowledgement email (joymotieno1@gmail.com). No response was received from the said owner Millicent Otieno. Frustrated and desperate, I sent an email to Tripadvisor customer help, requesting for them to reach Millicent Otieno and ask her to contact me and assist me with directions to reach her house. I received what looked to be an auto response message from Tripadvisor. I was stranded in Nairobi. At 8PM, I looked for an emergency accommodation elsewhere, paying exorbitantly, since it was a last minute booking. Tripadvisor has since then ignored several emails asking for a refund of my money. My advice is avoid Millys Place, Nairobi. It is an organized hoax, with Tripadvisor as their proxy. I will consider legal redress against Millicent Otieno / Tripadvisor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Communication
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
am very sorry after i sent the quote immediately i got a phone call that my brother was admitted in hospital so i rushed there not knowing that Sam had booked my place reaching the hospital i found my brother in ICU so i dint bother to check my mails again when i went to check my mail on 19th i was very shocked seeing sam's messages, but i immediately emailed him and i explained to him and i refund the money to him you can confirm with him thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyco...
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time, everything was fine”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was my second stay. The apartment is just perfect for me. It's secure and you have your privacy. Wifi and TV are available. See you next time.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2015
thanx so much you are welcome again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayufr
Udine, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“safe, clean, nice person”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I found the place very safe and in a quiet area, the owner is kind and helpful. Situated near Nairobi national Park

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
thank you franca for reviewing my millys place welcome again thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithra...
Juba, South Sudan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for a couple”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed there with my wife for five days. Situated around 10km away from Nairobi City and a well secured place. Market, Laundry, Salon etc. located nearby. Easy access to Carnivore Restaurant, Giraffe Center, Mamba Village, Giraffe Center & Nairobi National park. Milly is friendly & really helpful. Although you can get more info about Nairobi from her had better plan your trip wisely.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
thank you for your reviewing my property one more thank you, you are wellcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamalee...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Safe place for a solo traveler”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mili's place is best if you are a solo traveler given the location and space.
Worth for 25$.
You find markets, salons, gas station, and the Langata Hospital at a walking distance. Therefore it is convenient. You can also board on to a matatu for 50 KSH to get to Nairobi. Though the distance is short during peek traffic times it takes more than hour to get to the city. So if you are planning many visits towards Nairobi, then you would have to rethink about staying in Langata.

However there are several attractions that you could plan from here:
1. Nairobi National Park
2. Bomas of Kenya
3. Mamba Village (the crocodile farm)
4. The Carnivore restaurant - Best on Thursday evenings
5. The Giraffe Center

There is no laundry facility here, but you can ask for a bucket and do your own washing. Drying clothes is bit of a problem however.
The pantry is very tiny with a mini fridge, a single burner gas cooker, bread toaster and a coffee maker. You can prepare a simple meal with the given stuff.. but absolutely not enough if you are an Asian planning to cook a good meal.

Make sure you take towels, soap, shampoo and specially toilet paper.

Wifi connection is good.
You can request for a DVD player if necessary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: wifi connectivity
Liked least: bed room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2015
thanks so much for your review you are wellcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyco...
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for young people”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Nice apartment with privacy at a secure place. Very helpful and friendly people. Perfect as a starting point for trips. Thumbs up!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2015
thank you so much for your review and you are well come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnyakoiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It a good place to be.”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Milly's place is a very nice place for a vacation it is near the shopping centers, public transport is available , a very secure place and the rates are excellent also milly her self is ready and available to listen to your concern inshort it is a nice place i will recommend a friend to use the facility.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
thank you for your review, any i liked your visit to my place and you are well came with your family next time thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing