We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous pre flight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacina Residence & Suites
Ranked #23 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous pre flight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was only here for a few hours prior to an overnight flight back to United Kingdom.I was given a beautiful suite which had all that could be wanted. Had an excellent dinner then was able to relax for a few hours prior to being taken to the airport

Staff were extremely attentive and genuine in their comment.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dougal65,
Thank you for giving us the privilege of being your "home in Nairobi" for a few hours recently.
We hope you had a pleasant onward journey and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future.
Best regards,
Tony Sawe - GM - Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
66
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The African decor made me feel my holiday had started. My large suite and comfortable bed were welcome. I ate on the veranda at night which was magical with all the candles dotted about and breakfast was freshly prepared and varied. I had a few requests and the staff efficiently dealt with these. In addition the exotic bird song made this a special & memorable location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROWENAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Rowenah,
We are delighted to read your review... we hope the rest of your African Safari was as interesting & comfortable as the great start and hopefully we will see you on your next African adventure!
Thank you!
Tony Sawe - GM - Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As our flight back to Heathrow did not depart until nearly midnight our Agent Imagine Africa arranged for us to have a day room and a meal at their wonderful Moonflower Restaurant. We had a shower and rest in a beautiful room wish we could have stayed the night! and then a delicious meal with great service before being taken back to the airport for our return flight to the uk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmadNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel when we were stranded during the Nairobi airport fire. We were stressed out and having lots of trouble trying to figure out how to get home. If there was anything the staff and management could do to help us they did it. Well beyond our expectations. Checked on us after a sleepless night to ensure we were ok. Kept the breakfast open longer because we were up late. Sent champaign to our room because we looked stressed. Coordinated phone calls.

In short, staff were wonderful and I would recommend everyone to stay here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had the pleasure of eating here some time last year, was a private party for about 10 ladies or so.
the food was good, so was the wine, the meatballs(best iv ever had)and can go back because of that. a few issues though; the parking is quite small and the toilet was not so clean by evening time. For me the toilet is a factor that makes or breaks an establishment. also the lighting was an issue as by evening our area outside plus the toilet didn't have lights. As i went there last year am guessing those issues should be sorted out by now, so i can definitely go back and try again.
All in all its a good place for a private event.

The only reason i have rated cleanliness as poor is because of the toilet issue, cannot speak of the whole establishment as we didn't go inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Maureen,
Greetings from a wintery Nairobi morning.
This is a short response to thank you for taking time to comment on our Moonflower Restaurant.
We are delighted that the ladies had a memorable visit and that you enjoyed our Chef's "uber-delicious" sticky meatballs despite the apparent electrical issues.
I do regret to advise that The Moonflower has been closed for some time now as we are in the process of increasing our facilities and updating Palacina.
We hope to host you and the ladies in the future and it will be my pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were at this hotel for a stopover between international flights in and then again out of the country. During the day there is the continual noise of building works taking place next to the hotel. There is noise from a sort of pump that you can hear during the day and at night within the hotel. The noise during the night of barking dogs very close to the hotel prevented any form of a decent night's sleep and finally the noise from scuttling feet within the room (presumably mice) was the final straw. The bath could not be drained without a chap coming to assist with a plunger. None of the people in our party (three bedrooms) could have the TVs on as they didn't work and the Internet was only intermittent. I would strongly advise staying at another hotel if at all possible. On a more positive note, the lunch we had at the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were upgraded to the Penthouse Suite and found it exceptional. We were only there a night, but I could have easily moved in for an extended stay. The furnishings were tasteful, quite ample and very comfortable. The staff and overall ambiance were excellent. The pool is attractive, but the water wasn't heated, so it was rather rejuvenating. The lobby and seating area, where tea is served in the afternoon is also tastefully decorated, with lovely music accompanying your time sitting there or on an outside porch. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefe1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are very pleased that we met your expectations and we look forward to "welcoming you home" whenever you are in our neighborhood!
Best wishes from the Palacina family,
Tony Sawe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
House of Waine
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Property: Palacina Residence & Suites
Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing