We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palacina Residence & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
191
55
8
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
55
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoonflower restaurantlarge suiteresident tortoisesjacuzzi bathbeautiful boutique hotelmassage roomlong term stayliving roomfull kitchenstate housecouple nightsan oasisoutdoor poolmy home away from homelong flightlike coming homespent one night
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 264 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

When I first started coming to Kenya for work, I stayed at a few other hotels in the area (The Fairview, Sancara), etc, but after finding Palacina, there is no way I would stay anywhere else. Nairobi is one of the most hectic, traffic-filled, and sometimes dangerous cities that I visit for work. The Palacina transports you to a place of tranquility and zen, and is not over pretentious or overly opulent. Everything is clean, and breezy. Feels very beach-like. The restaurant is great - I've eaten here on multiple occasions, but the hotel is also located a short cab ride away from other places. They have a complimentary cocktail night on Thursdays with wine, beer and small bites (a great way to meet other guests and get to know the staff better). If you plan to stay on this side of Nairobi, stay here. If you're in Westlands or Gigiri, I'd probably stay at the Tribe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - I've seen a bunch!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALG-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for our short stay in Nairobi on our way to Zanzibar. The Palacina picked us up at the airport and immediately made us feel welcome and safe! We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by name, and offered room service since the staff could tell we were tired! We were shown to our room (very clean, comfortable, five star room) and immediately ordered from the menu. The food was great - an excellent meal to start our adventure. We used the Tour Africa Safaris as our guide for a safari. They work closely with the hotel, and made us feel in completely good hands the entire time. They kept our luggage and helped to confirm our flights to Zanzibar while we were away on safari. The staff was a picture of going above and beyond. The Palacina had a friendly, authentic, and clean vibe to it. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Nairobi. We wish we could go back sooner than we can:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment for five nights. Bed was small and really only ideal for one person. Rest of apartment was great. Food and pub were of a very high quality. Service was great. Some evenings they supplied high quality snacks and drinks on the house which was a nice surprise

Room Tip: Try the suites or a bigger apartment
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 5 nights in Nairobi to visit friends and had a great experience at the Palacina. There is a great restaurant attached which is nice because its so hard to get around Nairobi. Trips and cabs through the hotel are very expensive relative to calling a cab, so if you get the name of a reliable cab driver, use them.
Has a fitness center, which is not much but is fine for a quick workout and a spa which is just a massage room but is relatively inexpensive and massages are good.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived here late in the evening just as the restaurant was about to close. They kept it open and made a lovely dinner for us. Their attitude was pleasant. We stayed one night on our way to a safari. I would recommend as much as a one night stay's info would allow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews