We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacina Residence & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 5 nights in Nairobi to visit friends and had a great experience at the Palacina. There is a great restaurant attached which is nice because its so hard to get around Nairobi. Trips and cabs through the hotel are very expensive relative to calling a cab, so if you get the name of a reliable cab driver, use them.
Has a fitness center, which is not much but is fine for a quick workout and a spa which is just a massage room but is relatively inexpensive and massages are good.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
66
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived here late in the evening just as the restaurant was about to close. They kept it open and made a lovely dinner for us. Their attitude was pleasant. We stayed one night on our way to a safari. I would recommend as much as a one night stay's info would allow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali Rwanda
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Palacina is a dreamy small boutique hotel (I swear I thought up this title and only afterwards noted on their website that Lonely Planet says the same of it!). I used to stay their regularly when I was able to score reasonable rates particularly because I always loved the fabulous food and jazz (Friday nights) at Moonflower. The bar area is fantastic -- definitely harkens of Nairobi days of old and the outdoor setting area is reminiscent of a safari camp. Certainly try their grilled snapper - it's always a great way to go. I stopped staying there as the price couldn't quite compete with Fairview, but I would if I could!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our travel advisor booked us overnight into the Palacina and it was a perfect choice. The hotel is in a quiet location and upon entering we were immediately made welcome by the staff who directed us to a nearby trolley with welcome and delicious teas and coffees and bites. The room was amazing with a massive double bed, huge walk-in changing room and ALL the mod cons.

As we arrived in the early evening and were due to fly out early next morning we had dinner at the hotel's Moonflower Restaurant. A perfect choice. The table was located on the verandah, the service was wonderful mand the drinks and food superb.

Even though we were up before breakfast hours, the staff had a breakfast ready for us. Would I stay here again? Absolutely and as soon as I can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steppestrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Over the past five years we've enjoyed many good meals at Moonflower, Palacina's fine dining restaurant. Service is impeccable, and the decor is very interesting with its combination of colonial Kenyan and Zanzibarian influences. There is a nice feeling of continuity and comraderie among the staff since most are long-term employees. It IS quite pricey, but we have never been disappointed, nor have the many guests we have entertained here. Check out the hotel lobby and the Palacina Interiors showroom for some beautiful decorating ideas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We visited Palacina twice for dinner.Its a quiet place tucked away near Dennis Pritt Road.The place is just awesome,live music in background,good food,Basically if u want a pleasant dinning experience .There was a live band playing(we visited on friday and saturday).They even sang hindi songs.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .You may choose sit in the open space with a tent above or inside the restaurant.We tried both.Though its bit cold outside its nice.Food is good so also service.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .If u are Indian avoid ordering grilled lamb since we used to more softer version of grilled lamb and its a bit harder here the way the cook.The crowd hardly had Indians ,but you wont feel out of place.Its a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj7282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong & Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed twice at this secluded hotel set in a garden, at the beginning and end of a lengthy safari. Beautiful room, large bedroom and living room (with microwave, sink, plates & DVD player). Large bathroom. Great decor (designed by Palacina Interiors). Go to the 'gift shop' which is the Palacina Interiors shop). Spacious balcony. The massage was fantastic. Terrific breakfast. Good though pricey food at . We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so ask for a lower room if you don't want to walk up lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
House of Waine
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Property: Palacina Residence & Suites
Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing