We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palacina Residence & Suites
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Over the past five years we've enjoyed many good meals at Moonflower, Palacina's fine dining restaurant. Service is impeccable, and the decor is very interesting with its combination of colonial Kenyan and Zanzibarian influences. There is a nice feeling of continuity and comraderie among the staff since most are long-term employees. It IS quite pricey, but we have never been disappointed, nor have the many guests we have entertained here. Check out the hotel lobby and the Palacina Interiors showroom for some beautiful decorating ideas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
73
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We visited Palacina twice for dinner.Its a quiet place tucked away near Dennis Pritt Road.The place is just awesome,live music in background,good food,Basically if u want a pleasant dinning experience .There was a live band playing(we visited on friday and saturday).They even sang hindi songs.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .You may choose sit in the open space with a tent above or inside the restaurant.We tried both.Though its bit cold outside its nice.Food is good so also service.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .If u are Indian avoid ordering grilled lamb since we used to more softer version of grilled lamb and its a bit harder here the way the cook.The crowd hardly had Indians ,but you wont feel out of place.Its a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj7282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong & Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed twice at this secluded hotel set in a garden, at the beginning and end of a lengthy safari. Beautiful room, large bedroom and living room (with microwave, sink, plates & DVD player). Large bathroom. Great decor (designed by Palacina Interiors). Go to the 'gift shop' which is the Palacina Interiors shop). Spacious balcony. The massage was fantastic. Terrific breakfast. Good though pricey food at . We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so ask for a lower room if you don't want to walk up lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed in teh residence while attending a wedding in Nairobi. Fantastic place, close to all, staff more than happy to help. Excellent ribs from restaurant!! Really good place to stay in Nairobi, quiet and secure. Really impressed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

3 visits - one to have lunch, drop off a bag and catch a bus and twice for overnight stays.
Hotel is beautiful (furnished by Palacina Interiors) and all the staff very helpful and friendly. The suites are very large (separate sleeping area from sitting area) with huge bathrooms with separate showers and baths.
The Moonflower restaurant is very high quality but full priced (UK equivalent). Breakfast is buffet style with cooked omelettes etc but would become a bit limited for a prolonged stay.
Overall a lovely oasis for any stopovers in Nairobi - strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our one night stay at Palacina was a brief one due to the length of time it had taken us to get through immigration on our arrival at Jomo Kenyatta airport. However, despite arriving at midnight there were staff who welcomed us with a smile and helped us to our suite.

The suite was spacious with separate sitting area, bedroom, dressing room and large bathroom. All of the amenities were in order and the fruit and cookies on arrival were a nice touch.

There were, however, a couple of things that suggested a little lack of attention to detail, and which, in my opinion, should have been better for a hotel of this price: first the white linens on our bed were stained in a number of places- not acceptable; also the hairdryer provided didn't work in any of the power sockets in the room- so why bother?

The following morning we were pleased with breakfast selection on offer, including cooked breakfast/omelette on demand though the waitress service was extremely slow.

So, fine for a one night stay, but the management and staff could do with sharpening up on a few of the basics.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We've stayed in lots of hotels in Nairobi, following our safari in the Mara. I can honestly say that The Palacina Hotel is the best we have ever stayed in! A wonderfully quiet hotel, great service, huge rooms, just a lovely feel and atmosphere to the hotel.

We will definately stay here again, the staff were wonderful, thank you you all so much and well done for your wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#15 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#19 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Property: Palacina Residence & Suites
Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing