We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed in teh residence while attending a wedding in Nairobi. Fantastic place, close to all, staff more than happy to help. Excellent ribs from restaurant!! Really good place to stay in Nairobi, quiet and secure. Really impressed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
66
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

3 visits - one to have lunch, drop off a bag and catch a bus and twice for overnight stays.
Hotel is beautiful (furnished by Palacina Interiors) and all the staff very helpful and friendly. The suites are very large (separate sleeping area from sitting area) with huge bathrooms with separate showers and baths.
The Moonflower restaurant is very high quality but full priced (UK equivalent). Breakfast is buffet style with cooked omelettes etc but would become a bit limited for a prolonged stay.
Overall a lovely oasis for any stopovers in Nairobi - strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our one night stay at Palacina was a brief one due to the length of time it had taken us to get through immigration on our arrival at Jomo Kenyatta airport. However, despite arriving at midnight there were staff who welcomed us with a smile and helped us to our suite.

The suite was spacious with separate sitting area, bedroom, dressing room and large bathroom. All of the amenities were in order and the fruit and cookies on arrival were a nice touch.

There were, however, a couple of things that suggested a little lack of attention to detail, and which, in my opinion, should have been better for a hotel of this price: first the white linens on our bed were stained in a number of places- not acceptable; also the hairdryer provided didn't work in any of the power sockets in the room- so why bother?

The following morning we were pleased with breakfast selection on offer, including cooked breakfast/omelette on demand though the waitress service was extremely slow.

So, fine for a one night stay, but the management and staff could do with sharpening up on a few of the basics.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We've stayed in lots of hotels in Nairobi, following our safari in the Mara. I can honestly say that The Palacina Hotel is the best we have ever stayed in! A wonderfully quiet hotel, great service, huge rooms, just a lovely feel and atmosphere to the hotel.

We will definately stay here again, the staff were wonderful, thank you you all so much and well done for your wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here on a short stopover in Nairobi on our way home from Madagascar and Nairobi is something of a culture shock after 3+ weeks with the somewhat spiritual Malagasies. Kenyans are rather boisterous with a lively sense of humour it seems! It was all rather a bit of a fuss for a short stopover but Nairobi airport is hot noisy sticky and unpleasant so it was probably better than staying there for 8 hours. The hotel is very quiet and smart and the room was actually a suite, with sitting room, balcony sitting room, spa bath and all the trimmings. The furnishings were beautiful and we'd have liked to have more time to enjoy the room's facilities. We ate in the Moonflower restaurant which was al fresco and a bit chilly and with intrusive noise from the bar at first - until the live band of elderly Kenyans started up. They were very good too. So was the food - plenty of vegetarian choice and well cooked - shame we weren't eating much in advance of a long flight.
I would certainly like to stay here again if I'm ever in the area but doubt that will happen as Nairobi isn't really our thing.

Room Tip: I think they are all good but we had room 17 which was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was a lovely boutique hotel in Nairobi that we stayed at when we had two long layovers prior to flying to and from the camps we stayed at in Kenya. This little hotel was cozy and comfortable. When we arrived the first time (it was about 1:30 a.m.) and they had prepared sandwiches and cookies which they left in the room. We were able to grab about six hours of sleep before we woke up for breakfast which is served in a little dining room off the lobby. They had eggs, fruit, cereal, cinnamon muffins (these were great) and coffee. The front porch area was lovely and we were able to sit visit with others who were staying there. The Palacina provided transportation to and from the airport for a price. When considering this hotel, make sure you leave enough time to get to and from the airport. The traffic can be horrendous if you arrive any time around rush hour. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and there was a little balcony off the room.

On our trip back to the States, we again stayed at the Palacina for about 13 hours. When we walked in, it was tea time so there was a pretty big spread on the table. There were cookies, tea, coffee, etc. They upgraded us to the penthouse which was just lovely. There were two bedrooms, a kitchen, living room, two full baths, and enclosed porch overlooking the city. We ordered room service which took a little longer than we expected. I ordered a burger (should have known better) and my friend ordered a chicken curry. When traveling in Africa, I would order local dishes, rather than americanized meals. I'll never do this again. The hotel also offers two laptops with free internet in the lobby which was great, as I couldn't sleep and ended up on one of them for a couple of hours.

There is only one drawback to this hotel. There are no elevators and there are quite a few stairs in order to reach your room.

All in all, the hotel is a great little oasis and a place to relax before flying home. There is also a pool on the grounds.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on one of the lower floors if it's hard for you to climb stairs. The pentho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I should mention that I was only here for a single night and didn't arrive until 11pm. However, this was the perfect place to stay after the long flight from the UK. The staff were efficient and friendly and provided excellent service. The suite could not have been much better, large rooms and beautiful decor with a very comfortable bed. I only wish I could have stayed for another night to have really appreciated it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Property: Palacina Residence & Suites
Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing