We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacina Residence & Suites
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed at the Palacina Hotel for one night on our way from Rwanda to Masai Mara. The hotel is very nice with large, modern suites. The reason I am not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is the location - on a side road somewhere - and the condition of the road to the hotel. Right in front of the hotel the road is in a terrible condition - while I understand that the road is Nairobi City Hall responsibility, if I were the manager of the hotel I would have fixed at least 20 meters at the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acostin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

We were very pleased to host you and delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.
I am also delighted to advise that the City Council of Nairobi has finally authorized the repairs of Kitale Lane and the work is currently underway to be completed within the month.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a smooth & pristine Kitale Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Palacina Residence & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

The streets of Nairobi are pretty scary. The speed our cabbie travelled at from the airport to Palacina - doors locked and looking anxiously at the other drivers, didn't exactly set our fraught travel nerves at ease. But the Palacina did. What a little oasis! Our room was exceptional. Very big, beautifully decorated, a gorgeous bathroom and giant walk in wardrobe. I'm just so disappointed that it's in Nairobi as we'd love to have spent longer. The only downside was breakfast. The pastries were rock hard and if you don't eat cereal then you're out of luck. Coffee was great though as you'd expect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harold6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A delightful boutique hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly/helpful staff. Small relaxing pool area and a great partially open restaurant with local and international specialities. Breakfast was yummy with both hot and cold items. The perfect home away from home and start to my Africa trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at Palacina Residence & Suites on the last night of our trip to Kenya whilst waiting for a flight back to the UK. The complex has a very corporate feel – with many business people on extended stays whilst in the city on business. The overall standard of décor is good. The staff were not as friendly or attentive as others encountered on our trip in the country.

The ‘suites’ are spacious (lounge, bedroom and bathroom) and come complete with everything you could need to be self-sufficient – microwave, kettle, iron, sink etc – which demonstrates the staple clientele. We were unfortunate to coincide out arrival with a power failure and therefore the generators were whirring very loudly not too far from our window (Suite 18) – and as the room did not have air conditioning we could not open the windows for some cool air. Upon calling reception we were told that the situation would be rectified shortly – however it was still whirring away when we left the following morning at 10am. Not an ideal grounding to a nine hour flight home.

We had supper in the restaurant which was very decent (steak & chips and a non-flour chocolate cake - excellent).

The only complaint was the noise from the generators; something I assume is not a common occurrence however it would have been good to have had an apology. Upon being asked how our stay had been we replied – ‘if you consider sleep an important factor in assessing the success of a hotel stay then pretty poor’ to which there was no response.

Personally we would not return as it had too much of a corporate feel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip through Kenya and Tanzania! This hotel was by far the most impressive throughout out travel. The service was fantastic, the room equally so. Our only regret was that we only stayed one single night... We would have loved to stay at least a couple of days to enjoy the hotel more.

Highly recommended is the restaurant that belongs to the place that plays live jazz music while you are dining! The atmosphere and food is simply great!

Small things like having a DVD library where you can just pick your movies are just fab add-ons to this great hotel! We loved it!!!1

Honeymoon or just passing through Nairobi, this simply must be the best place to stay at !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moi77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Arrived in Nairobi and stayed 3 nights here. This was a perfect way to get over the flight and start our holiday. A superb, small, friendly, comfortable hotel, but beautifully furnished. Sufficiently far out of Nairobi to be quite, but still an easy drive to the city centre. The views are not the best (bit of construction going on), but our balcony looked out into a valley with trees and gardens. The Hotel has a small pool which was too cold to swim in during our stay, but was clean and well kept. The restaurant was very nice, partially outside and romantically atmospheric, with an international menu with some Kenyan specialities (try Kenyan Gizzards if you are feeling adventurous). Breakfast excellent, a buffet and also some items were cooked to order. We stayed in a suite which was plush, the bathroom was huge and everything was extremely clean and well kept. This would also be an ideal hotel to stay in on returning from Safari.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbearonthinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We only stayed overnight between flights. The room was well appointed and clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was very good. The grounds are a large garden, very well kept and lovely. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
927 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#16 of 167 in Nairobi
407 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $249 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing