We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could be worse” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ranked #90 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Could be worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights around safaris. We thought it was quite expensive for what we got, but after speaking to other travellers, we thought this was good value for Nairobi. We had a private room which was very basic, with shared bathroom facilities. Hot water is practically none-existent so had many cold showers. The deputy manager, James, was friendly and helpful. Only toilet roll and sheets provided, no toiletries, quilt etc. On-site cafe is cheap and filling, and there is a coffee shop over the road with free wifi. Whole place could do with a spruce up but good location (30 mins walk from downtown Nairobi) and helpful staff made this place better than some other hostels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
comoros islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

toilets - aggggghhhhhhhhh. none of the flush works.
quiet dorms, neat sheets - plenty of mosquitoes, so carry a power adapter as well as mosquito mats.
restaurant is passable. but better options on the street.
the small shop at the car park charges you double for everything; so if you can just walk round the corner to the Total petrol station, the convenience store sells you almost all your needy stuff at cheaper rates.
taxi fare to airport is around $15 -17 outside and through the office or the tour operator, it comes to $25.

Room Tip: dorm no 1 ground floor has some passable toilets but the ones on the first floor is a disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhagyanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

First impressions were not good as there was no water soothe toilets were disgusting, and however on my return journey was much better. For the price as a youth hostel it was very good.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendliness of staff does not match the facilities. Toilets and Showers were terrible, and what's worse is that nothing serious is being done about it, considering the high number of tourists moving in and out!!
Location is good, but I would advice people to take good care of their personal belongings, especially electronics.

Room Tip: Book online before travelling. If you arrive at night, the nightguard can sometimes be misguiding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed in this youth hostel for a couple of days just after I came back from a Safari in Serengeti and Massai Mara. It is a very nice hotel, good location but the bathrooms could be a bit cleaner. The staff were friendly and arranged my airport transfer. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, and i guess its just worth its price

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marenVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the hostel for one night before catching a flight back home. For a one-night stay on a backpacking trip I would definitely recommend this place as it is cheap and the staff is friendly. We had one room for the two of us so I cannot compare with people who had to share a (tiny) room with other people. The place was clean. They arranged a taxi at 5 in the morning to get to the airport, so again no problem there. I would recommend the place it you need a place to stay before going to the airport (quite close)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Not the best of places to end up. It was cheap but that was more or less its only saving grace, other than its admittedly decent location. The toilets were the most disgusting I've seen in a long long time [a long drop would have been miles more hygenic]. The water was barely on which is appalling for such a big city - I've seen better in the countryside! The internet cafe was OK, as was the tiny restaurant, but the free wi-fi was nowhere to be found. We did meet a couple other travellers, but this hostel seems to be a lot more popular with large groups of preteenaged students.
However the worst part of my stay was the one guest in the 18 bed female dorm we were put in who was openly racist towards us, cooked food in the room and hogged the one working plug socket.. but the worst was when she threw my friend's belongings across the room for having the gall to sleep in the bunk above her bed. Naturally we complained to the staff several times, yet they didn't care at all. So much for sticking to their own rules..

Room Tip: Try for as close to the ground floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#33 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Property: Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing