We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Real value for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ranked #90 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Madremanya, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real value for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were there some days and all is correct for the price you are paying. My opinion is that they can increase the price a bit for the sleeping night and reform some places, change some matresses, condition the washrooms...

Room Tip: Opposite the hostel is a Java House Coffee... great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iosebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Narobi Youth Hostel is a very basic place, with rooms that are not very clean. At this Hostel you will for sure get the best value in Nairobi, as everything else cost's a fortune. The restaurant is the strong point here, serving very good Indian food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jconnell1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I booked a 5-days safari tour with them (African Home Adventure Safaris, which is OK). On the way home, I stayed one nite with them. The location is clean and quiet, about 45 minutes' walk from downtown Nairobi - a bit far out from centre of action.
Beginning too tired of the jeep ride, I didn't check the room before I agreed to a shared room. Big mistake - a student has been staying in that room for months. His stuff were strewn all over the room -- really messy. I hardly had space to put my backpack! The room was too small for two persons, even with double-decker bunks. Shared bathroom was a bit dirty and run down.
Food from the cafeteria aren't great. However, food are available 20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anpijola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

My first impression of this place was actually good. Its located in a safe neighbourhood of Nairobi. The place looks good from the outside, has a nice cafeteria and a shop within its premises which stores everything that a traveller might need. However the biggest issue for me here was the level of cleanliness. The bathrooms/toilets are particularly dirty and the flushes weren't working well leading to a bad stench on some days. That completely ruined the stay for me. The management especially the manager James are very receptive to feedback. I hope they can fix the cleanliness of this place because on all other fronts, this place is actually quite decent

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We only can take shower and use water in toilets from 8 to 11am and 7 to 9:30 pm. During the day time there is water on the roof but not in toilets. Sometimes the electricity and water were both turned off while I took shower. The most serious problem is that it is NOT SAFE there. My friend's laptop was stolen recently and she is the only one who lives in the room, which means only the staff got the key of the room. After her computer was stolen, the manager of this hostel refused to investigate!!! Please consider seriously before you book this hostel. And also the staffs in this hostel please find my friends' computer for her, otherwise I will keep reporting the event.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QianhanXiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

From the outside this hostel looks a bit like a prison... but still I would strongly recommend to go to this place because it's cheap. The staff is honest and helpfull. The safari's the offer are not expensive, it;s customized for people with a small budget.
The internet is cheap (other hostels are way more expensive with internet). You can have a great meal across the street, en it;s about 30 minutes from the city (on foot). Although I've been to more cosy hostels in the past... it felt a bit like home, because it's a great place to arrange things for your holiday!

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank diannedendrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

I shared a room with someone who'd been staying there for 3months (who was studying nearby), the room was tiny and pretty grimmy, I didn't touch the sheets. Cold showers with no locks on doors and the toilets didn't lock either. People at the desk were nice although I think be wary. I booked a coach through them from Nairobi to Malindi which turned out to be a big scam and we were left stranded in Mombassa. Do not book through them. It turns out they took 4 times the amount it should have been and the journey was one big mess (I won't bore you with all the details). I get the impression all the people who stay here are studying nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#32 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Property: Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing