We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little piece of heaven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Save
You added Macushla House to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our first port of call was Macushla House Nairobi for 3 nights and then 3 nights after our safari. This is a country house located in the Karen area of Nairobi with easy access to the DSWT, Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen museum and coffee garden and Matbronze museum/art gallery and close to the Galleria shopping complex. This is a beautiful, tranquil hotel that is just perfect for a stay in Nairobi. There are only 6 rooms with on-suite, a restaurant, terrace, swimming pool and the gardens are stunning attracting many birds and other animals. This is a little part of heaven and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
42
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

very nice place very well owned we stayed there for only 2 nights but we were really happy to discover this very typical place , nice rooms full of place , familiar athmosphere nice food , good srvice , good breakfast and very nice environnment .
I recommand it for sure

Room Tip: our room was just perfect for us , lot of space colonial style , we enjoyed it a lot we had the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We began our Safari adventure by flying into Nairobi & staying here: what a delight! Beautiful quiet neighborhood, close to Giraffe Center, David Sheldrick to visit baby elephants, Karen Blixen, & other intended destinations. Breakfast & dessert (all we are there) were incredible & the staff were all amazing. Kids & we had impressive well-appointed rooms near office, decor throughout was inviting and spotless, & the walkway beyond the pool was an unanticipated surprise. Kids had a blast with the monkeys in the morning (with doting staff), and the evening fire in the great room was a nice touch. We hope to return!!!!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, so it's intimate. We stayed in the 2 rooms to the left upon entering, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycsundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is our 2nd stay. As before we booked in for a couple of nights before setting off on safari. It is a perfect spot to relax after the flight from London and all the stressful activity leading up to departing for any holiday, esp straight after the festive season.
We were lucky enough to get the same room so that felt familiar and homely. All the staff are attentive and helpful without being intrusive.
The birds and the vervets get the wildlife experience off to a great start, all whilst relaxing around the pool.
Thanks to everyone who made it such an enjoyable stay. When we return to Kenya we will start by booking back into Macushla House

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feetupagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Well situated in Karen area near main attractions ans and and and Nairobis top restaurants. Feels more like visiting somebodys home and not a hotel. Well organised with large clean rooms in a quiet and peacefula area. Excellent food and drinks cooked by friendly staff. We had a couple or after dinner evenings in the sitting room around the fireplace which kick starts the African magic! Even our youngest who had a mild case of indigestion was very well taken care of by the staff. highly recommended and congrats to the friendly onsite owner for providing a

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Xyzzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at Macushla House for 2 nights on a recent trip to Kenya and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse is small, peaceful and in a lovely spot in Karen - just on the outskirts of Nairobi. We had 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 1 dinner at the guesthouse and all the meal were fantastic and well priced. The staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. They have free wifi available in the lounge and laundry service too. The guesthouse is really close to the Giraffe Centre too which made for a great excursion during the day - you can easily (and safely) walk there which is nice. We had a great time relaxing by the pool, watching the squirrels and vervet monkeys playing in the trees, and would not hesitate to recommend Macushla House if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Macushla House is a wonderful inn about an hour outside of Nairobi - close to the Karen Blixen estate and the giraffe and elephant orphanages. The lodge and our room wreaked charm and romance and exceeded our idea of what an African lodge might be like. Although I gave value a 5 star rating (TripAdvisor made me say something), I cannot really comment on the price because the Inn was included in our tour package (Africa Travel Resources - an unbelievably good travel agent - ask for Lenny). The food here, and everywhere else we ate in Kenya, Tanzania and the CapeTown area was phenomenal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Property: Macushla House
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing