We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn”
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Ranked #4 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Macushla House is a wonderful inn about an hour outside of Nairobi - close to the Karen Blixen estate and the giraffe and elephant orphanages. The lodge and our room wreaked charm and romance and exceeded our idea of what an African lodge might be like. Although I gave value a 5 star rating (TripAdvisor made me say something), I cannot really comment on the price because the Inn was included in our tour package (Africa Travel Resources - an unbelievably good travel agent - ask for Lenny). The food here, and everywhere else we ate in Kenya, Tanzania and the CapeTown area was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great boutique hotel in the suburbs of Nairobi, this place is the perfect place to stay and relax in Nairobi. It is also close to the main attractions in the Langata/Karen area: the Giraffe centre is short (and safe) 10 minutes walk away, while the elephant orphanage and Karen Bixen house are nearby.

The hotel itself is very well decorated, is in a very quiet location, surrounded by a lot of vegetation. Te rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Finally, the food is really excellent and it is really worthwhile eating at the hotel.
Definitely a highly recommended place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

After surviving the commute from Jomo Airport in the hellish Nairobi traffic, Macushla House will feel like the most warm and welcome place in the whole of East Afrca. Our group of 4 spent just one night there on our way to the Mara, but we wished we were going to stay longer.

The gated House, originally designed as a duel residence, but turned boutique hotel, has an almost Meditteranean feel upon entering. Tucked away gardens and rooms, each decorated with cool artwork, feel totally cozy and elegant at the same time. The fires burning in the large wood burning fireplaces add to the movie-set feel while taking the chill out of the cool night air.

Ahhhh.

And then there is the food. Fantastic. And the staff. Friendly, attentive and great conversationalists. There's also a swimming pool, in a beautifully landscaped yard, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Only one snag in our stay and it was just our dumb luck. The owner was hosting a birthday party that night on the back patio. We were rudely awoken in the middle of the night by the drunken guests who carried on and on and even tried to get into our room! No doubt they were completely turned on their heads in their drunken state, but it was annoying and shameless. And who is there to complain to when the toublemaker is the one you're paying? Good thing birthdays only come once a year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

In the Karen region of Nairobi, Macuschla House is a delightful little oasis in the grimy city. Close to the sites, we spent two nights here with a full day visiting the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Center, Utamaduni Crafts, and the Kazuri Bead Factory.

Nice rooms, good breakfast, great service, and a gorgeous pool out back. Pool could have been cleaner, but it was their winter in fairness.

Why drop $1K on the Giraffe hotel when you can stay here?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great little find. We arrived from our 26 hr trek (USA to Nairobi) at 8 pm local time, expecting to go to bed without dinner. Happily we were wrong, and they cooked us a full dinner that was delicious. Mao, the resident cat, keeps you safe from critters, but does like to use the couch as a bathroom - just check before sitting down in the lounge area.
The bedrooms are nicely furnished, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A most charming, well appointed inn with the feeling of home. Each public room is interesting with African style touches and cozy furniture and a nice fire to keep you warm when it gets chilly. The staff is most attentive which was exhibited when I asked one staff member if there was a heater I could use in my room. To warm myself up I took a hot shower and hopped into bed. Two seconds later there was a knock on the door by one of the staff bringing me a boiling hot rubber water bottle. That certainly impressed us plus it did the trick of keeping us warm while we napped.
Our one disappointment was the shower in room 6, a most beautiful room with a four poster bed and ethnic woven rugs. The water trickled out of the phone style shower head and it was a major task getting the temperature of the water cool enough to not scald myself . Otherwise, I have no complaints. If you come here, and you would want a better shower, request a room other than room 6, perhaps the shower is better in another room . Also there was no electric outlet in the bathroom which might be a problem for some people .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanicePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A perfect ending to our 2-week safari. We were welcomed and immediately took comfortably seats outside on the terrace, ordered drinks, and relaxed. Walter took care of us the entire stay and was extremely attentive and gracious. They have an excellent selection of drinks and were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions for dinner and breakfast. I took a swim in the pool, which was refreshing and cool. Free wifi in the main area of the house. 2 comfortable sitting rooms inside the house on either side of the dining room; Walter lit the fireplaces just before dinner. Perfection. The rooms are basic, nothing special. The only negative I can say is very low shower pressure, but what can ya do?

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
535 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,299 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
House of Waine
#19 of 169 in Nairobi
266 reviews
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing