We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightfully Charming Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Ranked #5 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
383 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delightfully Charming Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

After surviving the commute from Jomo Airport in the hellish Nairobi traffic, Macushla House will feel like the most warm and welcome place in the whole of East Afrca. Our group of 4 spent just one night there on our way to the Mara, but we wished we were going to stay longer.

The gated House, originally designed as a duel residence, but turned boutique hotel, has an almost Meditteranean feel upon entering. Tucked away gardens and rooms, each decorated with cool artwork, feel totally cozy and elegant at the same time. The fires burning in the large wood burning fireplaces add to the movie-set feel while taking the chill out of the cool night air.

Ahhhh.

And then there is the food. Fantastic. And the staff. Friendly, attentive and great conversationalists. There's also a swimming pool, in a beautifully landscaped yard, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Only one snag in our stay and it was just our dumb luck. The owner was hosting a birthday party that night on the back patio. We were rudely awoken in the middle of the night by the drunken guests who carried on and on and even tried to get into our room! No doubt they were completely turned on their heads in their drunken state, but it was annoying and shameless. And who is there to complain to when the toublemaker is the one you're paying? Good thing birthdays only come once a year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
50
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

In the Karen region of Nairobi, Macuschla House is a delightful little oasis in the grimy city. Close to the sites, we spent two nights here with a full day visiting the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Center, Utamaduni Crafts, and the Kazuri Bead Factory.

Nice rooms, good breakfast, great service, and a gorgeous pool out back. Pool could have been cleaner, but it was their winter in fairness.

Why drop $1K on the Giraffe hotel when you can stay here?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great little find. We arrived from our 26 hr trek (USA to Nairobi) at 8 pm local time, expecting to go to bed without dinner. Happily we were wrong, and they cooked us a full dinner that was delicious. Mao, the resident cat, keeps you safe from critters, but does like to use the couch as a bathroom - just check before sitting down in the lounge area.
The bedrooms are nicely furnished, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A most charming, well appointed inn with the feeling of home. Each public room is interesting with African style touches and cozy furniture and a nice fire to keep you warm when it gets chilly. The staff is most attentive which was exhibited when I asked one staff member if there was a heater I could use in my room. To warm myself up I took a hot shower and hopped into bed. Two seconds later there was a knock on the door by one of the staff bringing me a boiling hot rubber water bottle. That certainly impressed us plus it did the trick of keeping us warm while we napped.
Our one disappointment was the shower in room 6, a most beautiful room with a four poster bed and ethnic woven rugs. The water trickled out of the phone style shower head and it was a major task getting the temperature of the water cool enough to not scald myself . Otherwise, I have no complaints. If you come here, and you would want a better shower, request a room other than room 6, perhaps the shower is better in another room . Also there was no electric outlet in the bathroom which might be a problem for some people .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanicePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A perfect ending to our 2-week safari. We were welcomed and immediately took comfortably seats outside on the terrace, ordered drinks, and relaxed. Walter took care of us the entire stay and was extremely attentive and gracious. They have an excellent selection of drinks and were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions for dinner and breakfast. I took a swim in the pool, which was refreshing and cool. Free wifi in the main area of the house. 2 comfortable sitting rooms inside the house on either side of the dining room; Walter lit the fireplaces just before dinner. Perfection. The rooms are basic, nothing special. The only negative I can say is very low shower pressure, but what can ya do?

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've stayed at Macushla a couple of times previously and always feel welcome and pampered. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and tastefully furnished, but the main attraction is the public rooms with their cosy sofas, fireplaces, resident cat Mao, and eclectic decoration. It's very pleasant to sit around the fire with a drink after a big day seeing baby elephants and giraffes - all fairly close by. We enjoyed the food, and the chef went to a lot of trouble to prepare something that wasn't on the menu for one of our group. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. We were late checking in on the first night and Peter dashed around and put hot water bottles in our bed as it was a cold night. Like a few other reviewers, I mention the lack of good water pressure in the showers but this has not stopped us from booking in again later in the year. We stayed in June and July 2013 this time, on the way in to and out of our safari.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I visited this hotel with my daughter at the end of May, myself for a holiday and my daughter for a meeting in the Karen district of Nairobi. The hotel is small, friendly and peaceful, with some excellent staff, who are very attentive without being intrusive. The well appointed room was large and very clean. The room service was prompt and there was no problem getting breakfast with a very early departure. The wild monkeys were interesting but never came close and in the evenings there was a lovely log fire lit in the lounge areas, which was appreciated as it did get a little cool. Taxis were booked with a reliable company and we went out one evening to a very good restaurant which the owner recommended.
The hotel was very handy for the Giraffe Centre - within walking distance and reasonably close by car to the Elephant orphanage, the Karen Blixen museum and the Nairobi game reserve, (all of which I enjoyed).
If I were to find a small problem, it was that the pool filter didn't remove the flies etc as quickly as some, although the area around the pool was very pleasant.
This is a small quiet hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Property: Macushla House
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing