We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Welcome home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Ranked #5 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've stayed at Macushla a couple of times previously and always feel welcome and pampered. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and tastefully furnished, but the main attraction is the public rooms with their cosy sofas, fireplaces, resident cat Mao, and eclectic decoration. It's very pleasant to sit around the fire with a drink after a big day seeing baby elephants and giraffes - all fairly close by. We enjoyed the food, and the chef went to a lot of trouble to prepare something that wasn't on the menu for one of our group. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. We were late checking in on the first night and Peter dashed around and put hot water bottles in our bed as it was a cold night. Like a few other reviewers, I mention the lack of good water pressure in the showers but this has not stopped us from booking in again later in the year. We stayed in June and July 2013 this time, on the way in to and out of our safari.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    37
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
52
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I visited this hotel with my daughter at the end of May, myself for a holiday and my daughter for a meeting in the Karen district of Nairobi. The hotel is small, friendly and peaceful, with some excellent staff, who are very attentive without being intrusive. The well appointed room was large and very clean. The room service was prompt and there was no problem getting breakfast with a very early departure. The wild monkeys were interesting but never came close and in the evenings there was a lovely log fire lit in the lounge areas, which was appreciated as it did get a little cool. Taxis were booked with a reliable company and we went out one evening to a very good restaurant which the owner recommended.
The hotel was very handy for the Giraffe Centre - within walking distance and reasonably close by car to the Elephant orphanage, the Karen Blixen museum and the Nairobi game reserve, (all of which I enjoyed).
If I were to find a small problem, it was that the pool filter didn't remove the flies etc as quickly as some, although the area around the pool was very pleasant.
This is a small quiet hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I traveled to Macushia House on the front end of a Kenyan Safari. Gamewatchers booked this place for me. On the positive side, this a charming place with 6-8 rooms. The rooms are sizable. For me, there was something off about this place. This isnt an inexpensive place. The water wasnt warm (not cold either). The rooms were cold. I was there in winter. You didnt get many towels either. These are just small things. This home is at the end of a street in the town of Karen. I walked with a few other travelers to the Giraffe Center which was a ten minute walk. It seemed pretty safe but I dont think I would want to walk alone. You are walking down residential streets. Each home is well "protected" with walls and fencing. The road is dirt. If you come here, there isnt any retail near by so you would have to take a taxi if you need something.

We had breakfast and dinner here. The food was good. We did sit around the fire after dinner talking with all the guests. One of the ladies continues to return year after year. This place seems to have a good following.

Outside of walking to the Giraffe Center, there isnt much to do without getting a driver. The real downfall for me is how far this place is from the airport. We arrived at 4 am and had to drive to the House which took 45 minutes. If you are doing a quick overnight, I suggest you stay someplace close to the airport.

If you do go, the Giraffe Center is a must do. Its fun especially if you havent gone on a Safari yet. I kissed a Girafee and I liked it!!! Check out my other reviews if you want my Safair Experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogluverSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a nice surprise. After traveling from USA to England and arriving in Nairobe in October, my husband and I could have not stayed in a more relaxing and serene place.The decor and grounds are beautiful and full of charm..Nice comfortable room with cozy bed. Great food, whether eating poolside or in the dining room, and the staff is so nice. Giraffe Sanctuary and Elephant Orphanage are nearby as is Wilson Airport. Only 6 rooms here so you should make a reservation..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Macushla House was an unexpected delight. The house is beautifully appointed, very warm and welcoming decor and layout. Our room was clean and spacious with ample cupboards for storage, a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The sitting rooms are comfy and inviting, we spent two lovely evenings reading in front of the fireplace with wine. The food was good and the service was prompt and friendly. The outdoor patio, pool and gardens were very appealing areas to relax, though the mosquitos were fairly intense in the mornings and at night so we often found ourselves inside instead. The only criticism I have is that we were assured there was wifi access but the wifi was not working when we were there. We were allowed to use the office computer if needed but it felt like an imposition which was uncomfortable for us. Also notable is that it was a long drive from the international airport - almost an hour on rough dusty roads.

Close enough to giraffe center that we could walk there in fifteen minutes. If you have the time, take the nature walk across the street from giraffe center, it is a nice way to stretch your legs. Also close to Sheldrick Elephant orphanage - don't miss the chance to visit and foster a baby elephant, the experience is unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goofyftgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staying at the Macushla House is a defining experience. However much I may try to find a weak point of this place, I cannot find one of any consequence.
Indeed, a few fellow reviewers have pointed at the low water pressure in the showers, and they do have a point. But, as Tony Curtis said in Some like it hot, "no one is perfect". Not even the Macushla House...
But - film quotes apart - this place is really close to perfection! The beauty of the place, the good taste of the interiors, the warmth of the staff makes it a perfect place to stay. Rooms are ample and beautiful, the common areas are extremely cozy and welcoming, and then there is the fireplace!
We were there for three nights, and in one of them there was very heavy rain that completely flooded the area, so that we were unable to go out for dinner. The Macushla House staff was able to conjure - literally "out of thin air" - a beautiful dinner, served with warmth and class. This memory will stay with us for a long time.
Full marks to Ms. Karoline and her staff - with special mention to head waitress Millisend!
I am a frequent traveller to Nairobi and I shall cartainly come back!
Too bad that I can only rate it 5 out of 5, it would indeed deserve more...

Room Tip: In various stays, I have used 4 different rooms and they were all very nice and ample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagisterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with my two children for a couple of nights in December. What a wonderful place! I highly recommend Macushla House for anyone passing through Nairobi. It is clean, safe, and well situated. Very nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Property: Macushla House
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing