We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxed setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Ranked #5 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxed setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here in two separate trips through Nairobi and found it both professional and welcoming. Both rooms I had were clean and well appointed and the setting was beautiful. Highly recommended for a few days site seeing in Nairobi or recovering from safari.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karip717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
50
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here three nights total - two at the beginning of our safari, and one night at the end, then we moved into downtown Nairobi for our last two nights in country.

The staff was welcoming and helpful, the rooms were basic and clean on both stays, and the gardens have a lot of charm. Both of the rooms had plenty of space to spread our and repack before and after our safari. The water pressure was weak, but we were used to that in various parts of our travels. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were supplied. The beds were the same beds we have found all over Kenya and Tanzania, with only two exceptions. Here they were basic, hard beds - not good or bad. We left our overseas luggage with them, which was very convenient.

We took advantage of the different sitting rooms and the gardens in the evenings before dinner. Never saw a mosquito. The pool was clean, but by the time we got back from our day out, it was too cool to swim.

We were pleasantly surprised by the food. Instead of trekking out to one of the Karen restaurants for dinner, we discovered the dining options at Macushla were a nice variety. I believe the menu had three entrees, at least one vegetarian. I had grilled red snapper twice it was so tasty. Very reasonably priced, as was the house wine.

The monkeys played in the front fountain and courtyard, which was fun to watch. The staff ran them off occasionally, as I'm sure they can be a huge nuisance. But it was a welcome sight our first morning - we knew we were back in Kenya!

There are two or three choices of places to stay near Macushla, which was $130pppn for us. The one we stayed at on our last visit to Kenya would have been $470 more per person per night. No kidding. The other two options nearby were $200 to $300 more per person per night. I'm not sure what extra amenities would inspire me to spend that much more on a bed and breakfast. We were very happy with our choice, and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Living_The_Dream_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We selected Macushla House based on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. On previous visits we stayed closer to the city at the Fairview and Stanley Hotels. As noted by other reviewers Macushla House is certainly in a great location for visiting the attractions of Karen. On the positive side the staff are very helpful and the meals we ate there were very good. However we felt the room we were in was very dark with extremely poor lighting. It felt like a cave. The bathroom offred a shower over the bath. The bath is high sided and there is no grab rail to offer any support when you climb in to have a shower. We were looking forward to a long hot shower after 2 weeks of bucket showers. However the water dribbled out of the shower head head onto the back wall, somewhat limiting our enjoyment. These are minor quibbles however if you are less able or an older travellor who is not very agile, this bathroom would be very dangerous. I am not sure if Macushla House has any rooms with a separate shower, but be aware of this limitation. Also pack your mosquito repellent as the beautiful lush garden comes with lots of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Pack your repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here and were looked after by friendly staff throughout - really highly recommend. Rooms were made up many times a day and really felt more like being at home in their lovely lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

A great house set in a lovely location near to Karen Blixens house, the giraffe mansion, kazuri beads, Elephant sanctury. . Great food, warm service.

Room Tip: One room has a turkish style 4 poster bed window. A gentle chorus of crickets and indiginous wildli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for 4 nights. It is located within walking distance of the Giraffe Centre in Langata, and just 10-15 minutes from the National Park and the Elephant Orphanage in one direction, and Karen in the other direction.

The is a feeling of old Africa about the place. Lots of dark wood, and comfy chairs. Our bed was very comfortable though a little too short for my 6'2" husband who likes to stretch out. That said, he slept well and the 6' bed width certainly helped.

Our bathroom was modern and had a large walk in shower, though our shower was lacking in pressure.

You can use the computer in the reception if you need Internet access but there is no wifi.

Macushla is a converted house and is more of a guest house or B&B than a hotel. Everyone is very friendly and relaxed and I would certainly stay here again. The prices are very reasonable compared to others and it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Macushla House for a total of 6 days and nights. Three when I first flew into Nairobi and three again coming back from Voi, Tsavo East National Park. This beautiful little guest house was recommended to me by several people and they were so right! My trip was to see my foster elephants from the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. The Trust's Nursery was only about 10 minutes away....also, The Giraffe Manor where we had a lovely tour and lunch and the Giraffe Center is very close. Everyone here is so friendly and helpful. It is like staying with friends at their beautiful home. Books to read, chess game set up....fire in the fireplace all created such a lovely feeling. Each night, the bed was turned down with a sprig of rosemary on the pillow and a hot water bottle warming the bed. Loved our early wake-up coffee in our rooms and the food was all so good! Be prepared to give lots of love and attention to the resident cat, Meow. She loves to have her photo taken, too. Beautiful grounds to walk around in, monkeys and birds coming to the feeder. Loved my stay at Macushla House and will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELIZABETH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Property: Macushla House
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing