We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet nights rest”
Review of Macushla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macushla House
Ranked #4 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A quiet nights rest”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We selected Macushla House based on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. On previous visits we stayed closer to the city at the Fairview and Stanley Hotels. As noted by other reviewers Macushla House is certainly in a great location for visiting the attractions of Karen. On the positive side the staff are very helpful and the meals we ate there were very good. However we felt the room we were in was very dark with extremely poor lighting. It felt like a cave. The bathroom offred a shower over the bath. The bath is high sided and there is no grab rail to offer any support when you climb in to have a shower. We were looking forward to a long hot shower after 2 weeks of bucket showers. However the water dribbled out of the shower head head onto the back wall, somewhat limiting our enjoyment. These are minor quibbles however if you are less able or an older travellor who is not very agile, this bathroom would be very dangerous. I am not sure if Macushla House has any rooms with a separate shower, but be aware of this limitation. Also pack your mosquito repellent as the beautiful lush garden comes with lots of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Pack your repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    38
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
56
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here and were looked after by friendly staff throughout - really highly recommend. Rooms were made up many times a day and really felt more like being at home in their lovely lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A great house set in a lovely location near to Karen Blixens house, the giraffe mansion, kazuri beads, Elephant sanctury. . Great food, warm service.

Room Tip: One room has a turkish style 4 poster bed window. A gentle chorus of crickets and indiginous wildli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for 4 nights. It is located within walking distance of the Giraffe Centre in Langata, and just 10-15 minutes from the National Park and the Elephant Orphanage in one direction, and Karen in the other direction.

The is a feeling of old Africa about the place. Lots of dark wood, and comfy chairs. Our bed was very comfortable though a little too short for my 6'2" husband who likes to stretch out. That said, he slept well and the 6' bed width certainly helped.

Our bathroom was modern and had a large walk in shower, though our shower was lacking in pressure.

You can use the computer in the reception if you need Internet access but there is no wifi.

Macushla is a converted house and is more of a guest house or B&B than a hotel. Everyone is very friendly and relaxed and I would certainly stay here again. The prices are very reasonable compared to others and it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Macushla House for a total of 6 days and nights. Three when I first flew into Nairobi and three again coming back from Voi, Tsavo East National Park. This beautiful little guest house was recommended to me by several people and they were so right! My trip was to see my foster elephants from the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. The Trust's Nursery was only about 10 minutes away....also, The Giraffe Manor where we had a lovely tour and lunch and the Giraffe Center is very close. Everyone here is so friendly and helpful. It is like staying with friends at their beautiful home. Books to read, chess game set up....fire in the fireplace all created such a lovely feeling. Each night, the bed was turned down with a sprig of rosemary on the pillow and a hot water bottle warming the bed. Loved our early wake-up coffee in our rooms and the food was all so good! Be prepared to give lots of love and attention to the resident cat, Meow. She loves to have her photo taken, too. Beautiful grounds to walk around in, monkeys and birds coming to the feeder. Loved my stay at Macushla House and will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELIZABETH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here some time ago now but was the pick of the bunch of hotels/guest houses I stayed in while on a business trip to Nairobi. The 'downside' of this hotel is that it's a little out of the way being in the suburbs. But after a hectic few days in Nairobi and Lake Naivasha that was a bonus for me. The service is excellent - they really couldn't do enough to make my stay comfortable. The rooms were clean and spacious. The place very well run. It's small and intimate enough to make a nice chat with the owner and other guests seem natural - unlike some larger faceless establishments. The best thing though was the food and drink. After many days of poor quality fare at various hotels (a standard unchanging menu that all the hotels seemed to share) this place felt like a fine dining restaurant. The portions generous, the food very well cooked and a good variety. Next time I get to Nairobi this will be the first port of call for a place to stay. Highly recommended for a short/medium term stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at Macushla House the night before our early morning flight back to Heathrow. We had a very nice evening meal, after some gin and tonics in the bar (they have three different types of gin, which is important). I asked if I could have porridge for breakfast at 5am - this was duly organised and eagerly consumed.

The staff are very nice and there are two resident cats, which is a lovely touch. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. They also have an extensive library, I found an interesting book about the Kenyan jewish community.

There isn't a great deal else to add, it's simply a comfortable place to spend time between transfers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHooFangDung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
485 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
632 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
765 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Property: Macushla House
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Macushla House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Macushla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing