We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a noisy and overpriced dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi
Ranked #126 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a noisy and overpriced dump”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights upon our arrival in Nairobi before leaving for a Safari.We booked via Expedia from Europe as this was the only place with an acceptable price (70 USD for a double). Well, the place is a dump. It is incredibly noisy as it is on one of the main squares just next to the matatu station (where the caos end at 1 am in the night and starts again at 4 am in the morning ...). I mean really INCREDIBLY LOUD, you can't spleep without ear-plugs. There was hot water in the shower with a small instant bolier (which looked quite unsafe) but not in the sink. For the rest the place is completely run down, furniture looks as coming from a dump, and the linen looked dirty (we had to sleep inside our sleeping bags). Only positive point, it is very central in the CBD and close to places to eat and the bus stops.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
13
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

The reviews below say it all... hot water??? Ehm... no. Maintenance... again... No. A quite night sleep... ehm... no. Value for money...? Value is not a term I would use in any context with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tactix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here just for one night (thankfully), and because it is in the centre it was so noisy we didn't sleep all night. If you don't mind the lack of hot water and really feel you must stay in this hotel, then at least do yourself a favour and take some earplugs. At least the sheets seemed clean (but I wasn't so sure about my old pillowcase). I hope you have better luck than us.

  • Liked — The staff seemed friendly
  • Disliked — The extremely noisy street outside, with constant horns blasting, and loud music
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank married_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

i was going to write and write about how horrible the hotel ambassadeur is, but in the end "there's a reason why it's so inexpensive" sums it up.

a few lowlights -

while the hotel is located in a prime downtown location, it is surrounded by bus (matatu) stops. buses in nairobi are privately owned and the drivers must solicit passengers. they do this by screaming, sometimes using a bull horn, at the top of their lungs no matter the time of day. it is nearly impossible to sleep. (i had heard that the ambassadeur was loud, but i live in a major us city, right on a major thoroughfare and between a police station and a fire station. it has nothing on the noise from the matatu stand!)

it's not all that safe. they do have guards on every floor, but items were still routinely stolen from rooms and the restaurant. the guards also did little to keep the thieves from roaming the halls - the very thing their mere presence was supposed to stop.

back in the day the ambassadeur was the premier hotel in nairobi - five stars all the way. unfortunately, it has fallen into complete disrepair. we are avid world travellers and have a high tollerance for "well worn." this place is down right dirty. it was so bad that we were hesitant to leave our unopened suitcases on the surfaces.

just don't bother.

**only one highlight - the night porter, shadrach, was excellent! the rest of the staff was sketchy.

  • Liked — the night porter, shadrach
  • Disliked — the stay in its entirety
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Twenty7east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel twice during my trip- 4 days in total. The only thing which was good- was the price. compering the other rates in Nairobi, hotel seemed to be safe and cheap. But what we did not like: almost nothing worked (shower, TV, phone), rooms definetly need to be renewed and it was quite dirty. and the most important thing- it is extremly loisy there, as the hotel is just to the buses stops, so for the first night I got to sleep at 4a.m.
The important thing- it was safe, guards on every second level, so ok from that side.

  • Liked — safe and rate
  • Disliked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0BERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city, oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

i would not recommend this hotel at all to anybody...i was there for 21/2 weeks and in this time the hot water was not on for 5 different days during the stay and my passport was stolen out of my room during the night when i was asleep....management covered for taxi to embassy and called the police and of course the thief was never caught, but it caused a lot of headaches to get another passport
the food in this hotel was acceptable but staff was very poor...
if there are any questions, please ask......
riocoribri04@aol.com

  • Liked — the convienence of nearby shopping and sightseeing and bustransportation
  • Disliked — noisy from traffic and not very clean
  • Tips/Secrets — check for better accomodation
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank riocoribri04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#109 of 165 in Nairobi
39 reviews
Milestone City Hotel Ltd
#93 of 165 in Nairobi
9 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#73 of 165 in Nairobi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#62 of 165 in Nairobi
40 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#54 of 165 in Nairobi
97 reviews
Kima Hotel
#127 of 165 in Nairobi
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi

Property: Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi
Address: Moi Avenue | PO Box 30399-00100, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassaduer Hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of Nairobi close to the best restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls. The hotel is located directly opposite the National Archives. The hotel is a 3 star with 83 en suite rooms all with internet connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur - Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing