We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Traveling in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summerdale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summerdale Inn
Ranked #110 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traveling in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and enjoyed a wonderful stay. The hotel is very clean and the room decor is very nice. The hotel did not have A/C, but that was fine because I was there in April when Nairobi is much cooler. The customer service is excellent. The hotel allowed me to view the rooms and pick out which one T thought would work best. I choose one on the higher floor with sunlight. The food in the resturant was very good and some of the most authentic Kenyan cuisine that I had during my 10-day stay. The technical guy was kind enough to allow me to use the business center when the wi-fi on my laptop did not work and he also looked at my laptop to rectify the problem. The location is okay, but great if you want to be in a neighborhood and not in the hustle and bustle of downtown. To summarize: Very clean, Great customer service, friendly staff, wi-fi and modern rooms. Great value! Defintely less expensive than other hotels which are not as nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
4
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner with my friend from Uganda. We enjoyed the food. And while we were at it, wi-fi was also available. The place is clean and the staff are friendly.
The only bad thing about the place is that it's located in a place which is not so clean...The road leading to the hotel is not as clean and has some potholes here and there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hardingtone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay as a stopover. We had triple room which was well equipped and roomy with fabulous shower!!
Friendly attentive staff.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, superb fish washed down with a tusker beer.
Breakfast provided at 5am too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I went for dinner with my wife at the Summerdale Inn. We were received well and it seems they were really prepared for the Valentine day dinner.

The restaurant was okay, a bit squeezed, I guess due to the number of clients they had that night. The food was good, ambiance needs improving, but service was very good. Its a place I would go to again.

However I did not get to spend the night so I can not talk about the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,067 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

nice hotel in nairobi with great clean and big rooms.
decent breakfast and friendly staff. located not really far, by car, from the international airport in nairobi.
definitely too expensive...........

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here a few nights and held a conference in their facilities earlier this month. Rooms are decent, but no bed nets or air conditioning in rooms. Rooms on higher floors facing the city are lovely, but the lower level rooms feel distinctly less nice. They didn't have enough fans to accommodate our request, so my travel companion did not get a fan in her room the first night and was very uncomfortable. During our next stay here, they had a broken fan for my room and inserted the wires directly from the fan into the wall socket to make it work. I guess as long as I had a semi-working fan? This could all of course be solved if they had air conditioning in their rooms.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best Hotels in Nairobi to stay. Rooms are of top quality and class. Food is exquisite and most off all staff is excellent mannered and treats everyone as if you are their most valued guest. A definite 5 star rating.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travellingDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Rio
#105 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Boma Inn Nairobi
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerdale Inn

Property: Summerdale Inn
Address: Gandhi Avenue, off Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Summerdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing