We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summerdale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summerdale Inn
Ranked #107 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner with my friend from Uganda. We enjoyed the food. And while we were at it, wi-fi was also available. The place is clean and the staff are friendly.
The only bad thing about the place is that it's located in a place which is not so clean...The road leading to the hotel is not as clean and has some potholes here and there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hardingtone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
4
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay as a stopover. We had triple room which was well equipped and roomy with fabulous shower!!
Friendly attentive staff.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, superb fish washed down with a tusker beer.
Breakfast provided at 5am too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I went for dinner with my wife at the Summerdale Inn. We were received well and it seems they were really prepared for the Valentine day dinner.

The restaurant was okay, a bit squeezed, I guess due to the number of clients they had that night. The food was good, ambiance needs improving, but service was very good. Its a place I would go to again.

However I did not get to spend the night so I can not talk about the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,118 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,014 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

nice hotel in nairobi with great clean and big rooms.
decent breakfast and friendly staff. located not really far, by car, from the international airport in nairobi.
definitely too expensive...........

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here a few nights and held a conference in their facilities earlier this month. Rooms are decent, but no bed nets or air conditioning in rooms. Rooms on higher floors facing the city are lovely, but the lower level rooms feel distinctly less nice. They didn't have enough fans to accommodate our request, so my travel companion did not get a fan in her room the first night and was very uncomfortable. During our next stay here, they had a broken fan for my room and inserted the wires directly from the fan into the wall socket to make it work. I guess as long as I had a semi-working fan? This could all of course be solved if they had air conditioning in their rooms.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best Hotels in Nairobi to stay. Rooms are of top quality and class. Food is exquisite and most off all staff is excellent mannered and treats everyone as if you are their most valued guest. A definite 5 star rating.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travellingDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Rio
#106 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#35 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
#114 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#42 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerdale Inn

Property: Summerdale Inn
Address: Gandhi Avenue, off Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Summerdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing