We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“I had no intention of staying at the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
Ranked #40 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had no intention of staying at the...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I had no intention of staying at the Nairobi Safari Club, or Nairobi for that matter. After a flight cancellation, however, I found myself very fortunate to spend the night in this establishment. It is a high-end hotel and had the feel as such. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. The suite (all rooms are suites) was spacious and very well-kept. The restaurant had a tasty buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Neither Internet nor meals are included in general room rates as far as I am aware; the airline covered my meals and I wasn't prepared to pay for the Internet. While I didn't have the opportunity to try the heated pool, it looked very nice. I marked the "value" down because I often feel these high-end kind of hotels charge too much for basic services, especially ones you'd find for free at cheaper hotels. Still, it was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it for travelers who are not on a tight budget.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    65
    28
    15
See reviews for
32
59
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naij
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I only have 2 words to describe this hotel - DON'T STAY...... may i add even if its offered for FREE! Which is what happened in my case! I missed my connecting flight and Kenya Airways put me up in this hotel. It was a nightmare! I checked out within the hour and went across town to the Tribe. Please its not worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Friendly staff. Ok food in the bar. Suites are spacious but a bit outdated. Probably this was top of the line in the 70-ties. Sometimes disturbing noice from the street in front of the hotel. OK hotel, no more no less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank No_1_Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Very helpful and polite staff. The rooms are very clean and all have a lounge suite. Complimentary bottled water are in the rooms.
The only downfall for us, which is not the hotel's fault was that there was construction work going on outside the rear of the building which started at the ridiculous time of 7pm and finished at 4am. Despite being on the 10th floor it sounded like we were on the 1st floor.

Stayed again at the end of our trip to be on the same side of the building and on 8th floor. by 9pm we had to ring reception and ask to be moved to a different room. Got moved to the 10th floor at the front.

No great problem apart from the traffic in the morning.

Could do with a bit of modernising, but this is Kenya after all

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

My first encounter with this hotel was a rude shock. When I reached this hotel in evening there was no electricity. I came to know, that there was no power since afternoon and there was problem in Hotel's distribution system.

Did my check-in in candle light and then climbed 7 floors to reach the room. It was a really adventurous as you have to manage down coming traffic and at certain places on stairs there was no candle. Room was quite big with a sitting room and separate bedroom. My room had a balcony attached to it. But you cant stay in balcony for long due traffic noise and pollution.

When I entered into the room there was a smell coming, but I couldn't make out for the reason due to no power. When I woke up in the morning, then I realized that that was a leakage in the toilet and the water has seeped into the room. Entire carpet in the room was deep into the water. I have to really jump and walk while walking in the room.

Power came at around 11 PM.

Morning, I told the Hotel staff about this and when I came back in the evening the leakage was fixed and carpet was dry but for the smell.

Breakfast was good with quite a variety.

However, not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoEvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed one night and it was fine. It isn't modern and hip - it's a room. The breakfast was again fine. A good place to stay if you need to be in the area, morning traffic can be killer - and don't want to pay a ransom at the Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_volman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Visited Nairobi in Oct. 09 and stayed for a week at Nairobi Safari Club. The hotel is neat and clean, well furnished, great location. rooms are suite, very comfortable. The restaurants are good (both the Pizzeria and Safari Restaurant). Hotel staff are courteous and prompt. Wifi works well. What beats all the good things I have to say about this hotel, is the price. This is a costly place at USD 190/night for the standard room. But then I found everything in Nairobi pricy. With not much public transport to boast about, one has to rely on the cab. A ride from the airport to the hotel is Ksh 2000. But then, nairobi itself is expensive, so an uppy tariff of the hotel is I guess part of the place. Anyway, I enjoyed my stay here and I roccomend it to all. Cheers.

  • Liked — Suite rooms
  • Disliked — Tariff
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pedman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Property: Nairobi Safari Club
Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing