We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“While acceptable, but it leaves much to be desired.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“While acceptable, but it leaves much to be desired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there at least 3 times between the year 2012 till 2013 for work as it was located within walking distance of the client's office.

First off, the price for the stay includes internet but no wifi except in the lobby, free breakfast and the staff are polite and always eager to help.

This is where most of the important positive points end, sadly the facilities for each room are not created equal and sometimes if you're lucky, you would get a room where all the power sockets, safe, and even air-conditioner works. Other times you don't, some would be working but other might not. After the first 2 times, we discovered that rooms at the 5th seem to be relatively okay and acceptable. Please understand that we were there for work and required either long hours at the client's site or long nights in the hotel room hammering out fixes for their system so the importance of a good and functional room was paramount to our needs.

But, if you only staying as a stop over from the airport before the tour agency comes to drive you for your long Safari vacation (we have noted this every morning as we left the hotel to go to work), then this hotel is suited for that purpose nicely.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dreamingArtemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    88
    70
    28
    16
See reviews for
32
63
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for week for work. The staff were very friendly and knew my every move, "out again mum". There was no wifi only cable to connect which meant no phone wifi, for work that was a bit limiting. The suite just seems like wasted space especially as they didn't fix my tv, the ariel was hanging out of hole in the wall. The pillows were new in 1985, and there was a lot of street noise & stale food smell even on 14th floor. And the pool is not quite what the photo promises. Location is ok, but u can get better for better value in Nairobi - just felt like the place needed a bit more love!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Many of the negative reviews I do not agree with. Yes, the hotel is very dated. Everything looks original 60s except the elevators. Suites are huge, clean, and in my case the AC and wireless internet worked just fine. Bed might be too firm for some. They were very accommodating and gave me a VERY early check-in as well as a VERY late checkout. Breakfast buffet was complete but had no variety. The other reviews scared me a little, but I found the hotel fine overall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juandf023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is not a review for vindictiveness, and, honestly, I'm not one of those "angry people", that needs to get things off their chest. I honestly just want to provide this review so that others don't have high expectations and are disappointed. Luckily for me, I just needed a place to put my head down, so ultimately, it wasn't the end of the world. If, however, you plan to stay in a 5 star hotel to be impressed or impress someone, choose another hotel in Nairobi...this just doesn't justify the status...I would suggest 3 at a push.

I'm sure I haven't got enough characters remaining to tell you everything, but from waiting 30 minutes to be checked in (and I was the only person waiting), from the mini bar being empty, only 3 fuzzy TV channels in local dialect, to the doorman arguing with the porter in front of me as to who was going to go and get my car for me...these were the not so bad things!

Honestly, readers, I'm not telling you not to stay here, I'm trying to make you aware that you'll get the service of a 2/3 star hotel/motel...not a 5 star one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Apologies for your delayed check in. Thank you very much for your feedback. Your observations have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is an all-suite hotel which is a plus as it makes it a little easier to entertain in the hotel. However, because of the kinds of furnishings on offer it does feel a little classic (old school) so lacks that premium feel you get when you go to other newer hotels within its price range. The service was however very good and everyone is very helpful and always smiling. It's also located in town but fairly away from activity and was quite quiet (although I did have a room not he 15th floor so maybe that helped. The gym feels cramped and is small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there as a lay over guest, courtesy of Kenya Airways. I like the all suite concept but this hotel needs a make over....a lot has changed in the hospitality industry since the 90s.

The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaturiMatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of updating our room furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Kenya airways flight from Nairobi was cancelled and after 6 hours of painful waiting at the airport lounge Kenya airways people finally decided to take us to this hotel. It is a 5 star hotel with suite rooms only. This was my first stay at any (5 star) hotel outside India and I was amazed to see large two room suite with lots of furniture, lots of space and nice large windows at both of the rooms. There are all amenities inside the room one can think of. Only problem I faced was with the Air condition system. It was running but was not cooling at the required temperature level. I called the housekeeping guys twice to sort out the problem. They came and checked but could not make the situation better. Anyway it was a one night stay only, so somehow night passed. Dinner and breakfast were also served to us. Both were buffet and varieties of food options were available. Food quality was also good. Overall nice stay and I would like to thank Kenya airways and the hotel authority for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AajkerNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#97 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Property: Nairobi Safari Club
Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing