We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nairobi Safari Club
Nearby Hotels
$224
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$196
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$155
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
59
112
78
31
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
112
78
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomhotel is locatedbit datedbuffet styleroom was spaciousbusiness triptrafficsupermarketluxurybathtubconferenceambience
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 298 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Boy if ever there was a property screaming out for a makeover this is it.
Obviously this hotel was the ultimate in luxury when built, I'm guessing the 60's. Virtually nothing has been done to it since.
On the plus side every room is a suite, rare and spacious, and in our case we had a balcony (there 3 nights). Also the staff generally are friendly, in particular a guy on the desk called James (mentioned in some other reviews) is an asset to be treasured.
Everything else is shabby and coming apart. Even the lounges in the foyer all are desperate for recovering. First impressions people!!!
This theme contiues everywhere. The dining room, you can see was the ultimate when built, but time has moved on. Half the furniture is mismatched, and cutlery, and everything else. At breakfast there is no one really overseeing the banemaries if they need filling, and selection sparse.
The bar has the basics to be fabulous. The Pizza deck above it shoud be a great place to hang out, but everything is busted up. The furniture, apart from keeping with the theme of being mismatched, looks like the sort of stuff you find on the side of the road (possibly not in Nairobi) on throwing out night. The Pizza cooking could use a bit of work also. Each night virtually nobody was in there. I wonder why?
You get my drift.
This hotel could, and should, be the local version of iconic places like Raffles in Singapore or The Metropole in Hanoi. Hotels famous for their old world style and charm. Luxury with timeless style. However to do that someone, maybe a large international chain, needs to pump some money into it.
For their sake I hope this happens soon.

Room Tip: Not so much a tip for the hotel but if you're there a full day take the Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe feeding, Karen Blixen tour. Loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. rest assured that we have acknowledged it and will save it for future reference and training as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed during our 2 week safari.

WiFi is available only from the lobby area.

Our room was 612. Because we are triple occupancy, they brought in a bed and set it up in the sitting area when we checked in after dinner. Don't understand why this wasn't done earlier, they had all day. There was plenty of table-top surface to put our things and both the sitting area and bed room were well lit.

There was a mini bar, complimentary bottles of water, coffee/tea making amenities, hair dryer and the usual bathroom toiletries. Could do without the bidet in the tiny bathroom. The door to the bathroom is also awkwardly positioned.

Breakfast was buffet style.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the relevant heads of department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel sometime in August and unfortunately did not have a pleasant experience. The hotel is on the colonial side and is very old. Carpets in my room did not have a pleasant smell. Bathroom was tiny and the shower did not work so I had to have a bath which im not comfortable doing in hotels. Not a lot of food for vegetarians both at breakfast and at the restaurant. My colleague is Jewish and unfortunately the hotel also does not cater for kosher travellers. Disappointing experience for first time in Kenya.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Apologies for your stay at our hotel. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the relevant hotel departments. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service excellent, everybody very polite and helpful, rooms need updating, nothing major though.
Food okay but dined out at other places and the food was great.
Probably wouldn't go back unless a few changes made

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When a Kenyan Airline flight from Nairobi to London was delayed until the next morning, we were bused to the Nairobi Safari Club for the night. Although off a main street, it’s quite a distance from the airport and abuts an industrial area. The lobby was fine and the staff handled the busload of displaced passengers in a short period of time. On the 11th floor, our room consisted of a large living room, bedroom and bath. For our purposes, the accommodations were adequate and free, however, for others they may find that the room hasn’t been updated for many years. Since the lights didn’t function and towels, soap, bottled water and shampoo were not available, it might be that the room hasn’t been in use. The desk was able to send a technician for the lights and a bellman with sundries. After a short night, it was a pleasant surprise that a large, comprehensive breakfast buffet was available. When built, these units were probably condominiums and were quite nice, however, today there are probably better hotel choices in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. It has been forwarded to the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews