We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old fashion Hotel in the seventy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old fashion Hotel in the seventy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Yes, It a nice hotel were you can be a little bit nostalgic about the 70. I move from the Meridain to the Safari Club, but nothing compare including the price too.
Everything is nice and good here. Room are very large with a living room, fitness and pool are great. Staff is very nice and the overall service is good. Yes it is more expensive but at least value is good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback especially about the service provided. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your safari in Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    64
    29
    15
See reviews for
28
57
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abidjan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a hotel that has seen many years. It feels like a family house. Things have aged... but they still work. The food is nice, the lift is fast and the rooms are all suites. Jackson Kibuchi,the Assistant Front Office Manager speaks French.

I was impressed that they could make a breakfast pack for me at 5:45 because I was leaving early, earlier than breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up, and you can get a larger view. Dont bother much about check in and check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NnennaWestAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night before heading off on safari. Room spacious and clean. Breakfast served early so we could eat before our 6.30 departure. Trip booked through http://www.explorerkenya.com/ who were fab. Word of advice take some small change with you as everyone expects a tip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the feedback, we do hope to enjoyed your safari and that it was everything you had anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A 3.5 rating would be more accurate and in context maybe even a 4, but don't expect a 5 STAR hotel and be disappointed... I found my suite to be a bit dated but clean and well appointed - not luxurious by any means, but also not lacking any amenities. Positives: plenty of space, comfortable bed, clean, all electrical appliances worked & staff very friendly and helpful. Negatives: ambiance, furnishings and linen quite dated and worn & service can be quicker. Meals served in the hotel are hearty and generous. All in all a good African city experience in my books!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city of your here on holiday (back or front of hotel and >6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, your observations have been noted and will be forwarded to the management team accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to stay at the hotel for a night before continuing our trip on the following day. The whole ambiance of the hotel was very inviting and exuded quality/Class. We walked into the hotel at night with no prior booking and the staff was very accommodating. I would like to recognize JAMES who was the receptionist assisting us. He was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and service oriented. After check-in, we were handed hot towels and a glass of fresh juice which was an unexpected but welcoming and appreciated gesture. The rooms are all suites which is especially convenient especially when one is travelling with other people due to the added privacy. Although the rooms are not as modern as other newer hotels, there is a certain old English aristocratic rustic feel about them which transports one to what used to be an elite hotel for club members only. A few minutes after entering our room, James called to find out whether or not the room was satisfactory and if there was anything else that we would be needing. Although located in Nairobi, the rooms are extremely quiet and convenient for getting a good night's sleep. The breakfast is buffet style and one is greeted with a smile by the staff. The food was lovely although it lacked a wide variety of vegetarian dishes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Cat W,
Thank you for your positive feedback, be assured that your recommendation in regards to James the front desk receptionist will be passed on to him and to the management team as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here during a 24-hour stopover in Nairobi and was quite disappointed. The hotel was advertised as a 5 star and my room as a suite but what I found when I opened the door was an old and smelly room. The level of cleanliness and decor are those of a 2 star hotel, but I could give the third star because of the large size. Definitely not a 5 star though.

Breakfast and the hotel facilities are also within the 2/3 star average and much much below what you would expect from a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Edoardo,
Your observations about the hotel and its facilities have been duly noted and forwarded to management for action. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in dec 2012. This is advertised as 5 star hotel, but I would not even rate it at a 2 star hotel .
The rooms were terrible. It is a very old hotel, and hasn't been maintained at all. The rooms were poorly furnished . The tv that was in the room must have been about 20 years old! The beds were hard and uncomfortable.
The service was terrible. However- the prices for food and alcohol was expensive for the hotel they had.
The hotel was nothing compared to the photos they have advertised .
I would never recommend it to anyone, and I certainly would not go here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_karthika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear s_karthika,
We are extremely sorry about your experience at the hotel. It has been duly noted and forwarded to the management team for action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
LAICO Regency Hotel
#71 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Property: Nairobi Safari Club
Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and ETB so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing