We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
Ranked #44 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to stay at the hotel for a night before continuing our trip on the following day. The whole ambiance of the hotel was very inviting and exuded quality/Class. We walked into the hotel at night with no prior booking and the staff was very accommodating. I would like to recognize JAMES who was the receptionist assisting us. He was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and service oriented. After check-in, we were handed hot towels and a glass of fresh juice which was an unexpected but welcoming and appreciated gesture. The rooms are all suites which is especially convenient especially when one is travelling with other people due to the added privacy. Although the rooms are not as modern as other newer hotels, there is a certain old English aristocratic rustic feel about them which transports one to what used to be an elite hotel for club members only. A few minutes after entering our room, James called to find out whether or not the room was satisfactory and if there was anything else that we would be needing. Although located in Nairobi, the rooms are extremely quiet and convenient for getting a good night's sleep. The breakfast is buffet style and one is greeted with a smile by the staff. The food was lovely although it lacked a wide variety of vegetarian dishes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Cat W,
Thank you for your positive feedback, be assured that your recommendation in regards to James the front desk receptionist will be passed on to him and to the management team as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 280 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here during a 24-hour stopover in Nairobi and was quite disappointed. The hotel was advertised as a 5 star and my room as a suite but what I found when I opened the door was an old and smelly room. The level of cleanliness and decor are those of a 2 star hotel, but I could give the third star because of the large size. Definitely not a 5 star though.

Breakfast and the hotel facilities are also within the 2/3 star average and much much below what you would expect from a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edoardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Edoardo,
Your observations about the hotel and its facilities have been duly noted and forwarded to management for action. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in dec 2012. This is advertised as 5 star hotel, but I would not even rate it at a 2 star hotel .
The rooms were terrible. It is a very old hotel, and hasn't been maintained at all. The rooms were poorly furnished . The tv that was in the room must have been about 20 years old! The beds were hard and uncomfortable.
The service was terrible. However- the prices for food and alcohol was expensive for the hotel they had.
The hotel was nothing compared to the photos they have advertised .
I would never recommend it to anyone, and I certainly would not go here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s_karthika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear s_karthika,
We are extremely sorry about your experience at the hotel. It has been duly noted and forwarded to the management team for action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

a safe and acceptable base for a 1 night stay in Nairobi, but tired, not clean, and with infdifferent service. on check in our driver had to remonstrate to get some service, and breakfast was slow. the furnishings are tired and the room was not clean

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Tom,
Please accept our heartfelt apologies for the slow service you received upon check in and while having breakfast. The relevant heads of department will be informed of your unfortunate experience, and change is definite. The housekeeping department and the overall management team, will also be informed about your perception of the room and the furnishings respectively. Once again, we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is worn down. I stayed in two rooms - in the first the curtains were not closing and the fridge was not working, in the second one, the A/C was not working well. The pool and fitness centre are ok though. Location is very central. The bill for conference facilities was wrong - extra items were charged. Staff is friendly but not professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olguies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Olguies,
We sincerely apologize for all the mishaps you experienced while staying at our hotel. Your observations regarding the suite amenities, and the manner of the staff you dealt with have been noted and forwarded to the management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night only, so i had no time to see the pool and the fitness center. The hotel is located in the city center which is great and there's a mall nearby and several restaurants, but don't walk around alone at night, only if you're accompanied.
Rooms are large and clean, but a bit old and tired. Free and fast wifi, but only at the lobby, in the rooms the internet is slow..
Due to location and friendly staff i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilinhaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear SheilinhaQ,

Thank you for choosing to recommend our hotel. Your observations about the nature of the rooms and the internet have been noted and forwarded to the relevant departments for attention. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good hotel value for money. Good for conferencing. I like the food service as well as the hospitality of the staff. Its not a new hotel and a little bit of renovation can help keep up with the modern world. The best all ensuite hotel

Room Tip: Being an en suite hotel all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Raykey,

Thank you for taking time to let us know how your accommodation and conferencing experience was. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our meals and the hospitality of our staff. Your concerns about renovating the hotel have been noted and fowarded to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#31 of 169 in Nairobi
1,290 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#23 of 169 in Nairobi
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
527 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#86 of 169 in Nairobi
50 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#74 of 169 in Nairobi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing